A Storm of Swords (review)

asosA Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire #3)

by George R.R. Martin

read from April 17 to July 11, 2016

Goodreads rating: ★★★★★

actual rating: 4.5 stars


My skin has turned to porcelain, to ivory, to steel.

A Storm of Swords is definitely my favourite in the A Song of Ice and Fire series so far! The events in this one are much more important in the grand scheme of things. So much has happened! Events from the fifth season of the TV show have already happened, I’m amazed. The only reason why I didn’t rate this five stars, is because of it’s length! Some nights, I didn’t even bother to continue reading it, since the chapters are so long. Unfortunately, it did take me several months to read it because of that. I’m quite frankly not interested in some characters. Whenever I see the next chapter is going to be about Tyrion, I tend to put it down for a couple of days. I just really hate that guy! Samwell and Davos don’t interest me a lot either. I like those characters, but I like the other POV-characters more.

The Starks are my favourites and it breaks my heart to see what they have to go through. Sansa is my favourite character and I loved her interactions with Margaery and Olenna, two other female characters who I adore. When Sansa has to marry (view spoiler), she didn’t even know beforehand! None of the Tyrells were invited, so they couldn’t defend her.
Reading about the Red Wedding was difficult, since it’s the most heartbreaking moment in this series. I’m mad that we didn’t get a reaction of every Stark afterwards! Why did we get Tyrion’s and not Sansa’s, Jon’s…?!
I don’t like Arya much in the show, but I love her in the books! She’s much more complex and doesn’t pretend to be so ‘hard’ all the time.

I also like Dany more in the books. She isn’t as rigid as in the show. Here, she clearly doubts herself.
Another character I enjoyed reading about was Oberyn Martell, although it was from Tyrion’s POV. I’m looking forward to reading about the Martells more in the following books. I know it’s going to be much better than what the TV show did to them, because that was a train-wreck!

So I clearly don’t like Tyrion Lannister (which is a very unpopular opinion) and on multiple occasions I have already explained why. I think my main problem is actually the shows’ adaptation of him. They pretend he’s this great guy we need to feel sorry for, and I’m never buying it again!
After his marriage, he wants his new wife, who’s only thirteen years old, and demands her she doesn’t cover herself up! However, they don’t end up having sex but that’s only because it would kill his enjoyment to see his wife not enjoying it, not because he ‘cares’ about her.
At the trial, Shae testifies against Tyrion. When he confronts her, she says she had to do it, the queen forced her. Of course, his feelings are hurt nonetheless (because his life is oh so unfair) and he ends up (view spoiler)
When Tyrion is in his cell, he has a desk, window seat, proper breakfast, he can have guests whenever he wants… Yet again, the TV show tried to make us feel bad for him, since his cell there looked entirely different.
I realise that my problem isn’t the book, but the series, but they kind of go hand in hand. Most of the people who read the books, have watched the show, and vice versa. A lot of people love Tyrion because of the TV show, but they forget what he’s like in the source material. Tyrion doesn’t care about anyone but himself. He didn’t care about Shae, he didn’t care about Sansa, he doesn’t even care about his brother… What’s to adore about this man? You have no idea how much I’d wanted to read from Cersei’s POV instead.

I’m a huge fan of Game of Thrones and I just couldn’t stop being amazed about the differences in the timeline between the series and the books. Events from the third, fourth AND fifth season have already occurred in A Storm of Swords, which is strange since most of the events in the sixth season haven’t happened in the books yet. Therefore, I’m very curious to know what A Feast for Crows and A Dance of Dragons will deal with. I assume Lady Stoneheart, Margaery VS Cersei, the Greyjoys, the Martells… and I can’t wait to find out!

conclusion: I loved reading A Storm of Swords! The pacing is quickly, though the chapters are very long. I wasn’t bored once, even though I have re-watched the TV show multiple times. There are plenty of differences and the characters have more depth. I’m very much looking forward to reading the rest of this series!

One thought on “A Storm of Swords (review)

Leave a Reply

