Rapid Fire Book Tag

This tag was created by GirlReading. You can watch the original tag here. You have to answer questions quickly without thinking about the answer.

E-Book or Physical Book?

Physical books. While I do enjoy reading e-books as well, half of the fun of reading is owning them on your shelves. It’s more expensive, but I dream of having a library in my house in a couple of years, so physical books are key.

Paperback or Hardback?

Hardbacks. If only I could afford them. Unfortunately, most of the books I buy are paperbacks, since they’re so much cheaper. However, if I really love a novel, I most likely will buy the hardcover version as well.

Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

Online. Buying English books in bookstores here is much more expensive. We have some beautiful stores in Bruges, yet I buy all of my books online. Sometimes, my orders are damaged but I will keep on ordering books online.

Trilogies or Series?

Series. Not that trilogies aren’t good, but my favourite series contain more than three books.

Heroes or Villains?

Heroes, because most Young Adult villains are all the same: a handsome young man who turns out to be misunderstood.

A book you want everyone to read?

I want everyone to read The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I love that series so much (except for The Raven King, that was a disappointment). The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller is also a beautiful novel.

Recommend an underrated book?

Most of the books I read are popular in the Bookstagram community, so I can’t think of anything right away.

The last book you finished?

A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin.

The Last Book You Bought?

Salt to the Sea.

Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

Years ago I used to dog-ear my pages! What was wrong with me?!

Used Books: Yes or No?

No. I’d say yes if I could buy used English books over here. Unfortunately, I’d have to buy them online and I wouldn’t do that without having seen the condition of the book myself first.

Top Three Favourite Genres?

Young Adult, LGBT and fantasy.

Borrow or Buy?

Buy. I never borrow books, except for my sister’s.

Characters or Plot?

Characters! My favourite books are character driven. If I don’t like the characters or can’t connect with them, chances are I won’t like the book.

Long or Short Books?

Long-ish. I love A Song of Ice and Fire, though it takes me so long to read. Still, there are advantages of long books. There’s more time to connect with the characters and the plot can be more developed instead of rushed.

Long or Short Chapters?

Short! Most of the time, I read right before I go to bed. Whenever I see the next chapter is going to be a long one, IΒ  probably won’t read at all…

Name The First Three Books You Think Of…

The Raven Cycle, Harry Potter and Game of Thrones.

Books That Makes You Laugh or Cry?

I cried a lot while reading The Raven King, even though I didn’t end up loving it.

Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Fictional worlds, no doubt! What I wouldn’t give to be a part of the Harry Potter universe!

Audiobooks: Yes or No?

No, I don’t listen to audiobooks. I tried it, but I don’t know what to do in the meantime. I did find it useful while I had to go by train often, but otherwise, I wouldn’t know when to listen to it.

Do You Ever Judge a Book by its Cover?

Yes. As I’ve mentioned before, half of the fun of reading is owning beautiful shelves. If a book had a really ugly cover, I perhaps wouldn’t buy it.

Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

TV Adaptations. Game of Thrones and Outlander are some of my favourite series (even though they may not always stick to the source material). I really want The Raven Cycle to be a Netflix TV series. It wouldn’t not work as a film (series), in my opinion.

A Movie or TV-Show You Preferred to its Book?

The only ones I can think of right away are The Maze Runner and Shadowhunters. Neither are great, yet I will continue watching them while I won’t continue the series.

Series or Standalone’s?

Series. I do enjoy reading standalone’s, but most of my favourite books are series.

Leave a Reply

