MID YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT

This tag was created by ReadLikeWildfire and Ely Jayne, both on Booktube. lebookworm7 inspired me to do a blog version of that tag!

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2016.

Sadly, I haven’t read that many good books this year so far. Without including re-reads, my favourite was A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff is a close second.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016.

I read the entire Captive Prince trilogy this year and Prince’s Gambit was my favourite in that series. I haven’t read a lot of sequels that got released this year, so I can’t include those.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. I’m convinced I’m going to love it, but I’ve been holding off until I’m in the perfect mood for it.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

I can’t wait to get my hands on Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo and Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

5. Biggest disappointment.

I was so excited to read The Raven King. I had been looking forward to it for months. It’s my favourite series and my expectations were high. Sadly, it didn’t live up to it. It was good, but wasn’t nearly as good as I had hoped.

6. Biggest surprise.

Besides being shocked that The Raven King wasn’t as good as I had expected, Falling Kingdoms was the biggest surprise. I thought I was going to love it; it has everything I want: political intrigue, multiple POVs, third-person perspective… But I disliked some of the characters and overall didn’t care much about the plot.

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

I started reading George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones in 2015. I only finished it in 2016 and have in the meantime also read A Clash of Kings and A Storm of Swords. I’m not surprised that I love A Song of Ice and Fire, since the adaptation is my favourite television show and I knew the books were going to be better. Still, I didn’t expect to love it that much. I quickly got used to the pacing and writing style and miss the series when I’m not reading it.

8. Newest fictional crush.

I don’t know. I don’t have a lot of bookish crushes.

9. Newest favourite character.

Claire Beauchamp from the Outlander series. I haven’t finished the first book yet, but I have watched the television show and I love her so much. Sansa Stark is one of my favourite characters as well, but she isn’t new to me, since I have watched the show. Same goes for Adam Parrish, Ronan Lynch and Noah Czerny. I grew to love them even more in The Raven King, but I already adored them before.

10. Book that made you cry.

I bawled my eyes out while reading The Raven King. I was so worried about what was going to happen.

11. Book that made you happy.

Some scenes in The Raven King were so much better than I ever could have imagined! I also loved some chapters in Prince’s Gambit. Actually, all of these scenes are about gay characters. Gay makes me happy!

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

The Lunar Chronicles’ books are so beautiful. I wish I had invested in the hardcovers, but the paperbacks look gorgeous as well.

I got all of the hardcovers from The Raven Cycle this year and they look so much better than the US paperbacks!

13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I need to start the Lunar Chronicles ASAP! I’ve been meaning to read it for over a year now, and I still haven’t!

14 Favourite Book Community Member (Blogger, Booktuber and Bookstagrammer)

Thoughts on Tomes was and remains my favourite booktuber! She’s such an inspiration and seems like a very nice person.

2 thoughts on “MID YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT

Leave a Reply

