Pokémon Go Book Tag

This awesome tag was created by readatmidnight! I haven’t played Pokémon Go a lot yet, though I really want to! A couple of years ago, I started playing the Pokémon games (like Pokémon Y, Pokémon Black and White…) on my Nintendo. Unfortunately, I haven’t played it in ages, but because of their newest app, I want to get into it again!


Pokemon-Tag-01Starters

I always find it so difficult to choose a starter, since in the Nintendo games, you can’t catch them in the wild! When I started Pokémon Go, I chose Charmander, but I have played with both Bulbasaur and Squirtle in the past.

Like many people, the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling got me started. At first, I read them in Dutch (my native language). The Fault in Our Stars is the book that got me into reading in English. After that, YA contemporary was my favourite genre for a long time.


Pokemon-Tag02Pikachu

Pikachu is so adorable! I’m pretty sure I used to have Raichu, the evolution, in my team. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to catch a Pikachu in Pokémon Go yet, since I’ve only caught Weedle and Rattata so far…

To be honest, I’m not a big fan of classics. Since English isn’t my native language, it’s difficult for me to get through those books that don’t feature the English language as it is today. So, I’ll have to go for the Harry Potter series, again. I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of re-reading those. Like so many other readers, it feels like coming home each time you pick it up.


Pokemon-Tag-03-Zubat

I’m already getting tired of seeing the same Pokémon in my neighbourhood, even though I’ve only caught like three of them! I just wish there were some cooler ones nearby.

I was hesitating whether or not I should read A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I had the feeling Feyre and Rhysand would get romantically involved and since I disliked the latter in A Court of Thorns and Roses, I wasn’t excited about that. I kept on seeing this book all over Goodreads and I just wished I could blacklist it already! I since have made up my mind that I’ll never read it, but it still bothers me to see it every five seconds while scrolling on my feed. I know the next few years are going to be torture for me, since Maas plans on writing a lot more books set in that universe.

I just want to make clear that I don’t have anything against those who like ACOMAF. I just don’t plan on reading it, ever. Some people have been very rude to me because of that and I think that’s why it bothers me seeing this book everywhere. It reminds me of how people treated me for simply having a different opinion than them.


Pokemon-Tag-04-Ditto

I’ve seen a lot of people who compared All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven with The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. While I didn’t notice the similarities while reading it, I guess you could say they have some things in common. I loved both and I want to re-read these books to find out whether I still feel the same way about them.

Other than that, it really bothers me when I encounter the same tropes in books. It happens so often while reading YA (fantasies especially) and it could definitely ruin my enjoyment. I prefer books that are more original.


Pokemon-Tag-05-Snorlax

Snorlax must be so useless in battle, but he makes me feel so nostalgic!

I used to avoid A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin. The writing style and size intimidated me. Thankfully, I got over that and I ended up loving the three books I have read so far!

I’m currently intimidated by the size of the Outlander series, though that hasn’t prevented me from picking it up. Although I don’t read it as much as I’d like to. I still prioritize smaller books.


Pokemon-Tag06-Gengar

My teams used to contain all those either cute or bad-ass Pokémon. I rarely went for the scary looking ones.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe wasn’t a scary book, at all. But it did keep me up all night because I couldn’t put it down! I finished it in one sitting, even though I had to get up early in the morning.


Pokemon-Tag07-NidokingQueen

Most of my OTPs are LGBT. No offence, but most straight romances bore me these days. Everything has been done by now. I’m not saying this is the case for every straight couple though; like I really enjoyed the relationships in Six of Crows!

So, some of my OTPs are Adam Parrish and Ronan Lynch from The Raven Cycle, Achilles and Patroclus from The Song of Achilles…


Pokemon-Tag08-Rapidash

I’m pretty sure I used to have a Ponyta or Rapidash on my team!

The Captive Prince trilogy is one of the series I finished fastest. Some fast-paced contemporaries I’d recommend are Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda and All The Bright Places!


Pokemon-Tag09-Eevee

I love all the Eeveelutions, I always used to have at least one on my team!

While I have only read the first three books in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, I’m looking forward to reading other works set in that universe, like the novellas written by Martin. It’s such a huge setting that goes back centuries, so many stories can still be told.

While I have heard mixed reviews of the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child play, I wouldn’t mind any spin-offs set in the Harry Potter universe, like prequels about the Marauders! I know J.K. Rowling didn’t write Cursed Child herself, so I’ll give her some credit. However, I sometimes get annoyed by Rowling’s additions on Pottermore and her Twitter. Like her saying that Dumbledore is gay. She didn’t have the nerve to include it in her novel, so she doesn’t deserve any praise for that. She attacks people who don’t like the idea of a black Hermione. While I don’t agree with those people, she doesn’t deserve any credit here either since she, once again, didn’t have the nerve to add important POC in the series.  I could elaborate, but I plan on writing a discussion about this soon.

I know Maggie Stiefvater doesn’t plan on adding anything to The Raven Cycle, but I still hope she will one day. While I ended up feeling disappointed after reading The Raven King, I’m still not ready to say goodbye to my beloved characters. But, the addition should be focussed on the characters and not the fantasy, since they’re the reason I fell in love with this series in the first place.


Pokemon-Tag14-Magikarp

I remember going through a lot of trouble to catch a shiny gyarados! It’s red instead of blue!

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a young adult fantasy romance, which isn’t normally what I’d reach for. However, I did end up really liking it and I immediately bought the rest of the series. Unfortunately, I haven’t continued it yet and I have already forgotten what happened in the first book… I still want to read it, though I’ll probably have to re-read The Winner’s Curse or find a recap somewhere.


Pokemon-Tag12-Legendary

Whenever I hear ‘over-hyped’, I see that as something negative; a series or a book that doesn’t deserve the hype it’s getting. So, it wouldn’t make much sense if I were excited to read something I think didn’t deserve the hype… Anyway, every book by Rick Riordan is loved by millions, but I have only read one – Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief – so far. I enjoyed it and want to read all of his other work! But, since they’re so action-driven, I want to read them in one sitting and I never have the time for that these days.


Pokemon-Tag15Mew-MewTwo

These aren’t collector’s editions, but if I had the money, I’d buy every single cover there is of the Harry Potter and A Song of Ice and Fire series. These are books I will probably re-read my entire life!


Pokemon-Tag10-Egg

I’m currently reading Cinder, which was Marissa Meyer’s debut and I’m already loving it, even though I haven’t even read one hundred pages yet. I have already bought all of the other books, which is so risky because I can still end up disliking them!


Pokemon-Tag11-Lure-Module

That’s difficult, since I probably wouldn’t buy something if it didn’t seem appealing to me, even when my favourite author wrote it. I have only read The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater, but I’m already excited for her upcoming works. I, however, won’t buy all of the books she has written in the past. I’ve heard mixed to bad reviews of some, so I wouldn’t want to waste my money like that.

Even though I have only read Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo so far (I didn’t finish Shadow and Bone), I can’t wait to get my hands on Crooked Kingdom and whatever book she’ll write next.

I will also buy every book J.K. Rowling writes, though I might not read them all. I have a copy of The Casual Vacancy and tried to read it many years ago, but I think I was too young to appreciate it back then. It’s still not one of my priorities to read.


Pokemon-Tag13-Server-Down

A Winds of Winter by George R.R. Martin! I haven’t even read A Feast for Crows and A Dance of Dragons yet, but this is one of the books I’m looking forward to most! I can’t wait to find out what the differences are between the TV show adaptation and the books. Also, I really need to know what the official cover and publishing house are going to be, since I want to buy the books again but in hardcover, and I want them all to match.

I’m also looking forward to the illustrated edition of Chamber of Secrets, Crooked Kingdom and Gemina!


This tag was a lot of fun to do! I’m really in the mood to catch some Pokémon now, so bye!

(written July 22nd, 2016)

3 thoughts on “Pokémon Go Book Tag

Leave a Reply

