July Wrap-Up: another disappointing month…

2016 has not been a good reading year for me. Last year, I once read over ten books in one month. Now, I haven’t even read thirty books in seven months! I can’t seem to juggle work and reading, unfortunately.


In July, I had a summer job and was too exhausted most days to pick up a book. I only managed to finish three books this month:

1. A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

I didn’t start reading A Storm of Swords this month, but I did finish it on the eleventh. I gave it 4.5 stars. It was my favourite in the series so far and I want to continue it right away. But I won’t, because I’m very much behind on my reading challenge and should read some smaller books instead. (review)

2. I’ll Give you The Sun by Jandy Nelson

This novel started out great, by I ended up feeling disappointed. There was too much drama towards the end, while the ending was too happy. I gave it 3.5 stars. (review)

3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder started out great! It was so original. But, as the story went on, the plot became very predictable. I didn’t get to know any of the characters and some things just didn’t make any sense (e.g. if Levana can brainwash people, how come Kai still felt so angry when they were together?). I will still continue this series, though not right away. I gave it 3.5 stars. (review)


Unfortunately, I also DNF’ed a book this month:

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This book has received many mixed reviews. Honestly, this was a cover buy and I was curious to see whether I’d like it. And I really did, at first. But the ‘not-so-subtle’ hints of a future romance really bothered me.  I made it halfway and some things from the synopsis still hadn’t happened yet. I did not plan on quitting this, but I suddenly started reading Cinder by Marissa Meyer instead and that caught my attention more.

3 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up: another disappointing month…

Leave a Reply

