July Book (and merch) Haul: 20+ books!

(Please ignore the incredibly crappy photos, I’m still figuring out how to make them look beautiful on WordPress!)boekenfestijn

I went a little crazy in July and bought over twenty books! Though I bought the majority at Boekenfestijn, which is a book outlet that was only temporarily in my home town. I bought the following twelve books there, for only 40 euros in total:

1. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller (hardcover)

During the summer of 2015, I read The Song of Achilles and I absolutely loved it. When I saw the hardcover at Boekenfestijn, I nearly freaked out: I had been looking for it everywhere, but it was either really expensive or out of print.

2. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (paperback)

While I didn’t love the books I have read by Patrick Ness so far, I did decide to buy The Knife of Never Letting Go. After all, it was only four euros!

3. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith (hardcover)

I don’t like reading classics. I had to read Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin in college, but I didn’t finish it. Lately, I’ve been seeing Pride and Prejudice and Zombies on Bookstagram often, as well as the Funkos from the film adaptation. So, when I saw this very beautiful copy at a very cheap price, I bought it.

4. The Book Life by Deborah Harkness (paperback)

Oh my god, I had no idea this was the third book in the All Souls trilogy until I just now looked it up on Goodreads. Well, that’s embarrassing. I had heard of this book and that’s why I got it, but I wouldn’t have if I had know it was the final book in a trilogy…

5. Heir of Novron by Michael J. Sullivan (paperback)

I did know that Heir of Novron is the third volume in The Riyria Revelations (I didn’t make the same mistake twice πŸ˜‰ ). While I don’t even own the first two volumes, I did decide to buy this since I’ve seen positive reviews of this series and I’d like to read more Adult Fantasies.

6. Kiss Me First by Lottie Moggach (paperback)

While I love reading mysteries, I rarely buy them! The synopsis seemed interesting, so I bought it.

7. The Illiad by Homer (paperback)
8. The Odyssey by Homer (paperback)
9. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthrone (paperback)
10. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens (paperback)

As I’ve mentioned before, I rarely read classics. Still, I bought some; I am an English teacher so I feel obligated to read more classics, even though they’re not what I’d pick up otherwise.

11.Queer (In)Justice: The Criminalization of LGBT People in the United States by Joey L. Mogul, Andrea J. Ritchie and Kay Whitlock (hardcover)

As someone who cares about the issues LGBT people have to deal with, I am interested to read this book. I know I’ll get frustrated while reading because of all the injustice, but that’s real life; it isn’t fair…

12. In Defense of Women: Memoirs of an Unrepentant Advocate by Nancy Gertner (paperback)

I’m a feminist and someone who loves shows and books about crime, so this was like written for me!


julyI also ordered a bunch of books on Amazon this month! Receiving bookmail is always so much fun, except when it arrives damaged…

13. Cress by Marissa Meyer (paperback)
14. Winter by Marissa Meyer (paperback)

The covers are so beautiful. I hesitated for a long time whether I should buy them in paperback or hardcover, and ended up buying them all in paperback (which I’ll probably regret). Meanwhile, I have started reading Cinder and I’m enjoying it much so far.

15. Salt to the Sea (paperback)

Again, I hesitated whether I should get the paperback or hardcover. I already regret my decision, since the paperback arrived damaged! Still, I’m excited to read this, because I think I’ll end up loving it.

16. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
17. The Wizard of Oz

I’ve been meaning to get these for a while. They’re absolutely beautiful! And, they have deckled pages! Funny story: I saw someone on Amazon who was pissed because he thought his copy arrived damaged! Guess he had never heard of deckled pages before πŸ˜‰

18. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

I know many people had trouble finishing it since it’s really depressing, but it seems like something I’ll ‘enjoy’.

19. Red Rising by Pierce Brown

While this is a very popular book, I haven’t seen it a lot on BookTube, Goodreads and Bookstagram. I’m not the biggest dystopia fan, but I finally bought it because it was so cheap.

20. Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

After finishing the second season of Outlander, I immediately had to have this book, even though I’m still reading the first one!


july2My friend Luke Taylor (who published his YA Fantasy Vault of Dreams today!) gave me this beautiful SIGNED hardcover copy of Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh! It has a personalized message for me and I love it so much. Because I live in Belgium, I rarely get the chance to acquire signed books, so this gift is very meaningful to me!

And J.R. Knight sent me this pre-release copy of his novella The Cure! This is going to be released in August πŸ™‚ It was wrapped beautifully and it looks like a very short and fun read!


exhibitionOn July 15th, I went to the Harry Potter exhibition in Brussels. It was a lot of fun and I bought the Marauder’s Map and Snape’s wand. It was really expensive, but I don’t get the opportunity often to buy real Harry Potter merchandise!

I pre-ordered Harry Potter and the Cursed Child back in February and I unfortunately haven’t received it yet. I’m honestly upset about that since I could have gone to the store on Sunday and I would have already finished it…Anyway, I’m going to include it in my August wrap-up and haul instead!


funkoWelcome the following Funko Pops to my family! I acquired all of these in July:

  • Poison Ivy
  • Batman
  • Claire Randall
  • Harley Quinn
  • Cersei Lannister
  • Drogon
  • dementor
  • Poe Dameron

 

 

2 thoughts on “July Book (and merch) Haul: 20+ books!

  1. thebookishuniverse says:

    OMG!! I don’t know from where to start: the funko pops, the howgarts map, the books? OHH the books. I’ve read most of them and I’m so excited that you’re going to, I can’t wait to see your thoughts and as a Greek I’d say that Odyssey is my favorite of Homer. I read it when I was in school in ancient greek and it was brilliant. Dying to read the Tale of Two Cities bc I recently read The infernal Devices and it was mentioned couple of times.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

