T5W: Books you feel differently about (August 3)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now being hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining!

This week’s topic is books you feel differently about. This is how Sam explained it:

Talk about the books that you feel differently about after you’ve had time to think about them or re-read them. These are books that you gave a low rating, and then thought about it or re-read it and ended up loving. Or a book that you loved when you first read it, but after you’ve thought about it or you’ve gotten older, you see how many problems it had.

Sometimes, I look back at the ratings I gave on Goodreads and I want to change them, since I don’t feel the same way about them anymore. But, if I start doing that, I’ll probably have to change the rating of almost every book I’ve read…


Let’s get started! These are in no particular order:

1. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

https://i2.wp.com/refractedlightreviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/shatterme.png

While typing this, I tried to read my review of Shatter Me, which I gave five stars. But I couldn’t, since it made me cringe so hard! It’s one of the series I hate the most now. I thought it was a great introduction and had a lot of potential. I loved the relationship between Juliette and Adam. I immediately read Unravel Me and Ignite Me and that’s where it went wrong. I noticed how annoying and indecisive Juliette was and how the author completely butchered Adam’s character to make the other guy seem more likeable. I gave the other books in the series only two stars. They didn’t live up to the potential of the first one. Instead, they merely focussed on the romance.

I never plan on re-reading this series and I would never rate Shatter Me five stars again, knowing how the rest of the series goes.


2.Β  The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

When I first read The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves and Blue Lily, Lily Blue, I gave most of them a four star rating. Afterwards, I couldn’t get the characters out of my head and I realised that this was in fact the best series I had read. When I re-read them, I gave all of them five stars. I couldn’t believe what I had written in my original reviews, I felt so differently after reading it a second time!

https://hollieblogcom.files.wordpress.com/2016/06/the-raven-cycle-series.jpg?w=300&h=114

But, when I read The Raven King, the exact opposite happened: I gave it five stars, since I thought I could either love or hate it, and I certainly didn’t hate it. I have never been more excited to read a book as I was to read The Raven King. I couldn’t contain myself; I cried so much while reading it. But, a couple of days after finishing it, I could only remember what I didn’t like about it. While a lot of amazing things happened I only could’ve dreamt of, many things were left unresolved and a certain character didn’t get the ending he deserved (‘remembered’, my ass!). So, I lowered my rating to four stars. Still, that might be too high. I don’t want to say the final instalment ruined the series for me, but I certainly loved it more when I hadn’t read it yet.

However, I still love this series very much, but I’ll secretly pretend the ending was more satisfying than it actually was.


3. Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

https://i1.wp.com/www.xpressoreads.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/SimonHomoSapiens.png

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda was a cute and fun YA contemporary. I read the e-book in one sitting and enjoyed it. I originally rated it 3.5 stars (though only 3 on Goodreads; damn their rating system)! A couple of months afterwards, however, I felt like I wanted to read it again. I have bought the hardcover and plan on re-reading it soon.

I like how the main character is gay, but his storyline is not only about his sexuality. Most of the time, YA contemporaries featuring LGBT characters focus on that aspect too much. It’s not realistic representation. That’s why I prefer books with more subtle, yet still very canon, LGBT representation (like The Raven Cycle, Six of Crows, The Song of Achilles…).


4. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

When I read Ugly Love in September 2015 in one sitting, I absolutely loved it. It made me cry my eyes out. I thought I had discovered the perfect genre for me. But, when I tried to read more New Adult novels, I quickly discovered they feature many tropes I am not a fan of: slut-shaming, possessive boyfriends… While I’m not saying Ugly Love is like that, I do plan on re-reading it to find it whether the relationship was as good as I first thought. Still, I felt connected with Tate. Maybe she’s the reason why I liked this so much. She wasn’t happy with the ‘relationship’ she had with Miles, yet she gave him what he wanted, because she didn’t want to lose him. That’s not healthy, but that’s not her fault either. I completely understood why she did that.


5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven and Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

I know, technically, these are three books, but I want to re-read them for the same reason: are they as problematic as some people claim they are?

I’m not the same person anymore as I was when I read Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars (I read ATBP more recently, only one year ago). Obviously, I’m older, but I’m also more realistic and more critical. Especially The Fault in Our Stars has been getting a lot of hate over the past few years and I’m curious to see whether I still love it as much as I did years ago. I’m afraid I won’t. I know it’s unrealistic. Still, I dreamt of meeting an Augustus Waters myself one day, because he seemed lit he perfect boyfriend. But, in the meantime, I’ve grown tired of these types of romances, so a re-read should be very interesting!


Whoops, it seems like I accidentally made a T5W about books I want to re-read instead! All jokes aside, I do want to re-read the majority of these novels to find out whether I still feel the same way about them. Which books do you feel differently about now? Let me know!

(Written on July 27th, 2016)

Leave a Reply

