TTT: books I’ll never read (August 9)

This week, we get to go back to do a topic we’ve missed or one we really want to revisit. Since I’ve only done Top Ten Tuesday once before, I have a lot of topics to choose from! I decided to do 10 Books I’ll Never Read, since I love expressing (and reading others’) unpopular opinions!

I might do a Top Ten Tuesday rewind more often, since not every topic might suit me (e.g. August 30 is about required reading and I didn’t finish most of the books I had to read in school).

Let’s get started. I didn’t include any classics since I don’t read a lot of those and I tried to choose books where I can explain my reasons. Here are ten books I’ll (probably, most likely) never read:


https://d2m2lkhawsaq1u.cloudfront.net/uploads/trial/Twilight_1409671488.jpg

When I was a teenager, everyone was obsessed with the ‘Twilight‘ series by Stephenie Meyer. I watched the first two movies, but didn’t bother to continue watching them or picking up the books. To this day, I still haven’t. When ‘Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined’ got released, I thought about buying it since I found a cheap copy on Bookdepository. But, the truth is, I’m really not interested in reading this. The only reason why I’d do it, is to be able to form my own opinion. But I already know I won’t enjoy it, so why bother?


I feel the same way about ‘Fifty Shades of Grey‘ by E.L. James. Back when I wasn’t a part https://i0.wp.com/www.dispatch.com/content/graphics/2012/03/26/2-book-shades-art-g9igirln-1fifty-shades.jpgof the book community or when I wasn’t as involved in feminism, I did want to read it. I even bought the first book (in Dutch), but I never picked it up. I wanted to know what it was about, but the more popular it got, the more bad things I heard about it. Just like ‘Twilight’, I know I won’t enjoy this. I’ve seen some excerpts and the writing doesn’t seem good and the relationship sounds unhealthy.


https://i2.wp.com/www-images.theonering.org/torwp/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Pocket-Hobbit.pngI’m not saying I will never read ‘The Lord of the Rings‘ and ‘The Hobbit‘ by J.R.R. Tolkien, but I probably won’t. The films never captivated me and I’ve heard they’re better than the books. I don’t mind reading big books, but I’m not a huge fan of ones that were written decades ago, since I always have more trouble getting through those. That’s also the reason why I don’t read classics that often. My sister has read ‘The Hobbit’ and if she, a LOTR and Hobbit fan, didn’t even love it, then I certainly won’t.


Beautiful Disaster‘ by Jamie McGuire is one of the most popular books in the New Adulthttps://romweasley.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/5645e-bdc.png?w=116&h=137 genre. But I will never read it. Thoughtsontomes has talked about this book on her YouTube channel and she convinced me to never pick this up. The relationship and male character sound highly abusive and I could never enjoy reading that, especially if it’s as romanticised as it seems.


https://i0.wp.com/shadowhunters.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/box-set-id.png

This is probably the most shocking series on this list, but I don’t plan on reading any more of Cassandra Clare’s books. I have read ‘City of Bones’ and I couldn’t even finish ‘City of Ashes’. I hated the protagonist Clary and overall, I just don’t care. Since most of her series are about the same universe, I can’t read them without getting spoiled for the other. I’ve heard ‘The Infernal Devices’ and ‘Lady Midnight’ are better, but if that means I’ll get spoiled for ‘The Mortal Instruments’, I probably won’t read them. I know this doesn’t make any sense: why do I mind getting spoiled if I don’t plan on reading them anyway?


I was wrong: ‘A Court of Mist and Fury‘ is probably the most surprising book that made it https://romweasley.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/3d96d-acomaf_2.png?w=116&h=162on my list of books I will never read. Before I read ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ over a year ago, I saw everyone swooned over a character named Rhysand. When I read the book myself, I thought the character did something very bad to Feyre, the main character. Almost everyone romanticised his behaviour though and said he did that to protect her. I already knew he was going to be her future love interest and from what I’ve heard, I’m not wrong. I can’t support that ship. I’m sick and tired of unhealthy behaviour being romanticised. I’m sick and tired of Sarah J. Maas making certain characters act out of character to make others more likeable. I’m sick and tired of having to explain to people why I have the right to feel this way about this series. People have been very rude to me and it only made me more certain that I should never continue this series.


https://i2.wp.com/i.ebayimg.com/00/s/OTA3WDEyMDA=/z/7JkAAOSwF1dUNgaM/$_3.JPG

Many years ago, I loved watching ‘Pretty Little Liars‘! But, after a few seasons, it started to annoy me that the mystery was no closer to being revealed. It just dragged on and on and some things were never solved. So, I just stopped watching it one day. Sometimes, the plot was a bit too ridiculous and far-fetched. That’s why I will never read the books. Besides the fact that I think I’m too old to enjoy them, I think the plot in the books might be even more ridiculous. Plus, there are so many books and that’s why I quit the TV show in the first place; because it never ended!


I didn’t get into reading until a few years ago (around the time when ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ https://romweasley.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/0b53a-bgl70geceaa7yad.png?w=140&h=192was really popular) so I haven’t read a lot of the books that were very hyped back then. I watched ‘Divergent‘ and wasn’t blown away by it. I thought some things were very similar to ‘The Hunger Games’. I haven’t watched any on the other adaptations, nor will I. I know fans weren’t pleased with them, so I shouldn’t judge the books by the films. However, I’m not the biggest dystopia fan and I’ve heard the final book wasn’t good. So, I won’t read this series. I’m honestly not interested in finding out more about it.


https://i0.wp.com/ifistay.com/im/book_whereshewent.pngYears ago, I read ‘If I Stay’ by Gayle Forman. It’s probably one of the very first books I reviewed on Goodreads. Back then, I loved reading contemporaries. I still do, though I choose them much more carefully now. I didn’t like ‘If I Stay’ and I won’t read the other book in this duology, ‘Where She Went‘. I don’t plan on reading any more of this author’s books for that matter. Not that her work was awful, but it wasn’t promising enough to pick up anything elseΒ  by her.


The books in ‘The Selection‘ series by Kiera Cass look so beautiful. I would love to own https://romweasley.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/bc213-theselection_cover1.png?w=102&h=157them, but I just know this series won’t be my cup of tea. It has a love triangle, seems very predictable and is too fluffy for me. I wish I didn’t have to put this series on this list, since it looks so pretty, but I know I’d hate it.


This was this week’s ‘Top Ten Tuesday’ post! Which books will you never read? Do you agree with any of my choices?

(Written on July 21st, 2016)

9 thoughts on “TTT: books I’ll never read (August 9)

  1. Ellis Ferrell says:

    I completely agree with you about never wanting to read Twilight or 50 Shades. If I hate the very concept, why put myself through it? Great list though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rashthedoctor says:

    i have read the LOTR books and never actually seen the movie so when you say that the movie is better i may want to both protest and never watch the movie in order to keep the sanctity of my precioussss LOTR book alive πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      Oh well, I don’t actually know whether the films are better since I can’t compare, but that’s what I’ve heard from a couple of people. But if you love the books, I think you’ll enjoy the films! A lot of people seem to love them πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

