T5W: Authors You Are Waiting on Another Book From (August 10)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now being hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if youโ€™re interested in joining!

This is Sam’s explanation of this week’s topic:

These are your favorite authors who you want to write another book but haven’t yet. Or they are writing something, but no title or synopsis has been released and it isn’t coming out until 2018. Try to keep this to authors who haven’t announced anything concrete about a new book, not authors that have a highly anticipated release coming out before the end of 2016.

This is going to be difficult! It’s kind of like saying who your favourite authors are and it’s difficult choosing just five ๐Ÿ˜ฎ


Here are, in no particular order, five authors I hope will write another book soon:

1. J.K. Rowling

With the Casual Vacancy and Cormoran Strike series, Rowling has been writing a lot more adult novels recently. I’d want her to write something for children again, preferable about the Harry Potter universe. I’m aware that she wrote the script of the Fantastic Beasts movies and she writes for Pottermore, but I want to read another novel by her. And I’m not the only one. She’d sell millions of copies. I don’t understand why she approved the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child play and works on the Fantastic Beasts movies, yet a Marauder prequel is too much to ask for. I’m sorry, I’m just one bitter Harry Potter fan.

edit: I hated Cursed Child. Thankfully, Rowling didn’t write it herself, so I still hope any new material by her would be good..


2. Maggie Stiefvater

Maggie Stiefvater is working on the following three novels. Not a lot is know about those yet, but I’m intrigued!

maggie1maggie2maggie3

edit: A couple of days ago, Maggie Stiefvater tweeted this:

maggie

Now I’m even more excited for her upcoming work! I love Ronan so much; he and Adam are my favourites! She better not ruin what they have though. I hope it’s going to focus more on his life than the fantasy elements, because that’s where The Raven King went wrong for me.


3. Madeline Miller

The Song of Achilles is one of my favourite books. I hope Miller decides to write another retelling featuring LGBT characters! Some people might not like it if she did that every time, but I’d definitely love it.


4. Wonder Woman by Leigh Bardugo

In 2017 and 2018, a bunch of YA authors are going to release young adult novels about some DC characters: Matt de la Pena is going to write about Superman, Marie Lu about Batman, Sarah J. Maas about Catwoman and Leigh Bardugo about Wonder Woman. While all of these excite me, I will probably read Leigh Bardugo’s book first. I’d love to read a book about Catwoman, but Maas and I sadly don’t get along; I don’t like her series so I hope I will like this novel better.


5. There Will be Other Summers by Benjamin Alire Sรกenz

I loved Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe and I was so happy when I discovered Benjamin Alire Sรกenz is going to write another novel about these characters. So far, I don’t think we’ve got a publication date yet, only the title.


What books are you waiting for? Let me know!

(Written on July 26th, 2016)

Leave a Reply

