The Reader Problems Tag

The Reader Problems tag was created by About to Read!

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I’m a mood reader, so I always find it difficult to decide what I’m going to read next. It takes me a very long time before I actually pick something up. Most of the time, I start reading something that I might be in the mood for and hope for the best.


2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

It depends. If I haven’t been into it from the start, I’ll probably quit. But, if I just started feeling that way, I’ll struggle through. I haven’t DNF’ed a lot of books. Afterwards, I sometimes regret I didn’t.


3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

I’d probably lower my challenge. I’m very much behind on my reading challenge now and I’ve already lowered it. I won’t pressure myself, since the challenge isn’t that fair either way. I’ve read some very book big books this year and I might have reached my goals if I had read tiny books instead.


4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I don’t. I’d buy them again! I hate it when series don’t match and I’d definitely freak out if it were one of my favourites.


5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Most of the time, me and my sister feel the same way. So I can bond with her. I post reviews for every book I’ve read on Goodreads and I’m always honest. I don’t want fans to intimidate me. Everyone has their own opinions and they just have to accept that. When I see someone who hates a book I love, I read their review to find out why. If I really disagree with them, I might unfollow them. It’s that easy. I certainly won’t message them and tell them they’re wrong, which has happened to me.


6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

This has already happened to me. I try to hold back my tears and be subtle. I wouldn’t put the book down, since that can ruin an emotional moment.


7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?

I hate when that happens! I haven’t figured out a solution yet, but I’d probably re-read it!


8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

Luckily, no one I know in real life besides my sister enjoys reading books. She knows what she can and cannot do with them. She has to be very careful while reading!


9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

2016 hasn’t been the best reading year for me. Especially during the first few months, I couldn’t get into anything I picked up! When I re-read a few favourites and finally finished A Game of Thrones, I had mostly gotten out of my reading slump.


10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I’d buy them all, but perhaps not right away. I check amazon.de daily and buy books when they’re cheap. Sometimes, I wait too long and then the prices go up again! I hate when that happens 😦


11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

That really depends. Like I’ve said, I’m a mood reader, so I have to be in the mood in order to enjoy it. Though there are some books I plan on reading right away, like Crooked Kingdom and Gemina!


(written in July 2016)

Leave a Reply

