TTT: books set in a school (August 16)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here!

This week’s topic is top ten books with X setting. Because I’m a teacher, I decided to choose books set in a school! This is my list, in no particular order:

1. the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowlinghttps://i0.wp.com/images.hellogiggles.com/uploads/2014/05/30/harry-potter-books-LARGE.jpg

Of course I had to include the Harry Potter series in this list! I would gladly go back to school if I could attend Hogwarts. I would love the attend the different classes, hang out in the Great Hall, be sorted in an awesome house (Pottermore has sorted me in Slytherin and Hufflepuff), hang out with the fantastic beasts… I would enjoy every single day there!


2. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

https://i1.wp.com/www.xpressoreads.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/SimonHomoSapiens.png

A lot of YA contemporaries feature a high school setting, but Albertalli’s approach is one of my favourites: it wasn’t as stereotypical as most books! There were no mean girls, rude jocks… Whenever I watch films set in a high school, I wonder whether American school are really like that. Does everyone have a locker? Do bullies really steal lunch money? Do pupils have to pay their lunch in cash???


3. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/59/Cover_ravenboys_300.png

While most of the events in The Raven Cycle don’t take place in a school, I did love all the chapters at Aglionby! My favourite aspect of this series are the characters and I felt as if I really got to know them when they were at school. I wish more scenes had taken place there.

Honestly, I know must of the pupils at Aglionby are spoiled rich boys, but I really wouldn’t mind if Maggie Stiefvater wrote more about this school and its pupils. And by ‘really wouldn’t mind’ I mean ‘GIVE IT TO ME ALREADY’!


4. Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Taryn Fisher

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51JaBuTA1XL.jpg

I would not recommend reading the Never Never series since the third part was very underwhelming and disappointing, but I did love the first two parts. The two main characters try to remember who they were while juggling school, their families…


5. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Nivenhttps://i2.wp.com/www.germmagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/BrightPlaces1.png

Even though this is one of my favourite books, I really don’t remember much from it. I read it last year and it was very sad. The two main characters’ story start at school and because of a class project, they have to work together. I know this book has received a lot of mixed reviews, but I’m still very excited to re-read it.


6. The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

https://i1.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1414605032l/18660447.jpg

This book takes off at prom: Gia’s boyfriend dumps her in the parking lot and she quickly needs to find someone to replace him, so her friends don’t think she was lying about having a boyfriend. This book does feature some high school drama, yet it’s one of the best fluffy YA contemporaries I have ever read. And this is coming from someone who isn’t the biggest fan of that genre anymore. Gia went through a lot of character development and this was overall very fun and cute.


Unfortunately, I could only think of six books! I bet there are many more, but I couldn’t remember whether I enjoyed the scenes at school… oh well. What are some of your favourite books that take places at a school?

(written July 31st, 2016)

2 thoughts on “TTT: books set in a school (August 16)

  1. Lauren Becker says:

    Oh, definitely the Harry Potter series. I like that you included Simon Vs. too! LOVE that novel. As for American schools – I had a locker for middle and high school. I think it’s common for people to have lockers. Also, we paid for lunch ahead of time so I had tokens in grade school and paper slips in high school that you gave to pay for lunch instead of handing over cash directly. šŸ™‚

    Lauren
    http://www.letsgetbeyondtolerance.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Oh I adore your list!! Who wouldn’t want to go to Hogowarts, right?!? (I’m Slytherin. XD) And I looooved All the Bright Places so so much EVEN IF IT MADE ME CRY. Plus I agree about Simon Vs. Such a good book! But American schools are so so weird?? I wonder if they’re actually like they are in books/movies. hah. Ahem. But yes, at least Simon Vs broke some of the stereotypes and it made it seem so much more real instead of a pile of cliches. SOOO much love! Here’s my TTT!

    Like

Leave a Reply

