T5W: characters you defend

Today’s topic is actually Favorite First Sentences, but since I can’t think of any – I don’t really pay attention to first sentences – I decided to do May 25th topic instead!

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now being hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining!


1. Sansa Stark (A Song of Ice and Fire)

I love Sansa Stark, so, so much. She’s one of my favourite characters of all time. I already loved her when I watched the show for the first time and I loved her even more when I read the books.

Over the years, I’ve had to explain quite a few times why she is my favourite character in this series, and not Tyrion, or Daenerys, or Arya… Many people find her, especially in the first seasons and/or books, weak. I strongly disagree with them. Just because Sansa likes nice dresses and doesn’t physically fight anyone, doesn’t mean she isn’t strong. When people talk about bad-ass women, they think of Celaena Sardothien, Katniss Everdeen, Arya Stark… but rarely of women who actually contain a lot of feminine traits. I think Sansa Stark is one of the most emotionally strong characters I’ve ever encountered. If I had gone through the things she had, I wouldn’t have the will to live anymore. But she’s a survivor.

Many people only started to like her later one. I’m not saying those people aren’t ‘real fans’, but if you dislike a girl when she was acting feminine and cried once in a while, you don’t deserve her when she becomes more assertive and ‘bad-ass’.


2. Cersei Lannister (A Song of Ice and Fire)

I didn’t always love Cersei. For a long time, I thought she was a very selfish and rude woman. But, when I read the books and re-watched the show, Tyrion really started to annoy me. I have already explained in my very first ‘Top 5 Wednesday’ post why I dislike him. I’d much rather read from Cersei’s POV instead of his. She has more to offer then her little brother. She’s more cunning and has more to lose. She loves her children so much, no one can deny that.

starksren, one of my favourite people on tumblr, loves Cersei and has explained numerous time why she is a complex character, not a villain. I love reading Oliver’s posts and if you’re interested in reading more about Cersei, I’d recommend reading his thoughts!


3. Adam Parrish (The Raven Cycle)

The Raven Cycle is my favourite series and I love all the characters so much, especially Adam, Ronan, Noah and Kavinsky. I’ve read some reviews from people who found Adam, particularly in The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves , annoying. Adam comes from a poor family and doesn’t want any help from his friends; he wants to make it on his own. I get that people might find it frustrating that he won’t accept any help, but I understand Adam as well. I feel as if characters have to be perfectly happy in order for them to be liked. I mean, that’s why people don’t like Sansa either, right? They don’t like someone who complains or who cries.

Because of this, Adam will always have a special place in my heart.


4. Joseph Kavinsky (The Raven Cycle)

As I’ve just mentioned, Kavinsky is one of my favourite characters in The Raven Cycle. The Dream Thieves is partially because of him one of my favourite books. I know a lot of people hate him and I completely understand why: he’s an asshole. If he were a real person and not a fictional character, I’d hate his guts. He’s not a nice guy. Yet, I love him so much. I have no idea why, but I really do.

I don’t really openly defend him, because I understand why people dislike him. But, I won’t join the majority of the fandom just because of that. I loved his interactions with Ronan and I truly miss this character.


5. Ronald Weasley (the Harry Potter seriers)

Whenever I see lists of people’s favourite Harry Potter characters, Ron Weasley is rarely on them. I don’t know why. He’s actually a really funny character and a great friend. In the films, a lot of his best moments were given to Hermione, which makes him seem rather ‘useless’ at times. In the books, Ron has a lot of bright moments. It’s not always Hermione who has to save them.

I think people forget why Ron feels jealous of Harry. He has a lot of siblings to compete with at home, and when he goes to school, he’s always being overshadowed by his best friend. I think we can all stop pretending we are never jealous ourselves. I love my sister, but of course I’m jealous when our family gives her more attention than me. It’s only natural. I actually like the fact that Ron and Harry fight, because they still manage to become friends again. When I had fights with friends in the past, that often meant the end of that friendship.


BONUS: Claire Randall/Beauchamp/Fraser (Outlander series)

I haven’t seen anyone who dislikes Claire, but I haven’t seen a lot of people express their love for her either. They always talk about Jamie. I find Claire a much more interesting character. Once again, she’s a strong female character who doesn’t need to wield a sword in order to be so.

I think male characters have it much easier to be liked. I found this text post on Tumblr today and I couldn’t agree more:

text

Yes, I know, Jamie doesn’t have a bad attitude, but you do have to admit that people generally dislike more female than male characters (if you exclude villains). Most of the female characters that are loved, have a lot of typically male characteristics; while ladies who are labelled as ‘whiny’ are more often those who cry, care about their looks…


I know I kind of cheated this week, but I really couldn’t think of the best first sentences I’ve ever read.

Which characters do you defend? How do you feel about the characters I chose?

(Written on July 29th, 2016.)

3 thoughts on “T5W: characters you defend

  1. rashthedoctor says:

    hah I thought I was the only one who didn’t pay attention to first Sentenses , very interesting T5W really like how you defended Sansa , I never thought that way before but in all honesty my problems with her weren’t her feministic trait , it was rather her borderline-idiotic Naïve nature. She kept falling for the same traps in the book again and again. She even refused to trust either her family or her father and trusted Cercei and Jofferey and that’s my only bone to pick with her.
    Either way nice T5W

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      In her defense, she was only eleven when she went to King’s Landing. Winterfell’s environment was very safe, she never had to deal with manipulators and liars before. And Cersei knows how to play her and she has a crush on Joffrey. She has no idea how cruel people can be. But once she realises that, she learns from her past experiences. I don’t think she ever made the same mistake twice. But, she did have to trust some people in order to escape an even worse situation.

      I’ve seen a lot of people who blame her for her father’s death and that’s not fair. She was so young and never intended for that to happen. If she could do it all over again and prevent that, she would.

      Clearly, I was right putting her on this last, haha! I always defend her, I can’t help it. I love Sansa so much, I even named my dog after her 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • rashthedoctor says:

        Well i am not saying she was responsible for her fathers death , i just believe she was too naive and had bad judgement atleast in the first 2 books , but good point .

        Like

Leave a Reply

