TTT: Ten Books That Have Been On Your Shelf From Before You Started blogging That You STILL Haven’t Read Yet (August 23)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here!


I haven’t been blogging for a very long time, but I have had my Bookstagram for over a year now. And I joined Goodreads years ago, though I didn’t start actively using it until also one year ago. There are many books that I bought back then, which I still haven’t read. Sadly, I don’t even plan on ever reading some of them.

This is my list, in no particular order:


1. Let it Snow and An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is one of the books that got me reading. I loved it and I immediately bought all of his other books. Unfortunately, I didn’t love  Looking for Alaska, Paper Towns and Will Grayson, Will Grayson nearly as much as the first book I had read by John green.

Soon, I discovered other genres and authors. Since, I have never been in the mood to pick up Let it Snow and An Abundance of Katherines, which have been on my shelves for years now.

I might read Let it Snow in the future, since it’s getting a movie adaptation. John Green is also working on a new novel and I might read that one. We’ll see.


 

2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

https://romweasley.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/55483-anna-and-the-french-kiss.png?w=95&h=155

I don’t even remember buying Anna and the French Kiss, or why. It was probably a cover buy. I have never been interest to pick this up. While I enjoy reading YA contemporaries from time to time, I’m not a big fan of romances. I know what many people love this book (series), but I doubt I’m ever going to be  in the mood for this.

I’ve heard there’s some cheating in this one and that doesn’t appeal to me either.


3. Faingirl by Rainbow Rowell

After finishing Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, I just had to have Fangirl.Yet, I have never wanted to start reading it. I guess I’m just never in the mood for contemporaries anymore. I have also bought Carry on , another book I just had to have right away, and haven’t read yet. Whenever I’ll pick that up, I’ll probably read Fangirl as well, since they kind of go hand in hand.


4. The Wolf of Wall Street by Jordan Belfort

After watching (and loving!) The Wolf of Wall Street, with the amazing Margot Robbie and Leonardo Dicaprio, I bought the book it was based on. I honestly don’t think I will ever read this. I never read non-fiction! And I bought the book with a film cover, what the hell was I thinking? I’d never do that now. That shows how much people can change in just a couple of years 😉 While I love the film for reasons I can’t explain (it features everything I hate, yet I liked it?!), I don’t think I’d enjoy reading this. Jordan Belfort isn’t exactly portrayed as a nice guy.


5. The Secret History by Donna Tartt

I am so ashamed I had to put The Secret History on this list.I have no idea why I haven’t read this yet. I started reading it last year, but put it down because the first chapter was already over fifty pages! I hate long chapters and it wasn’t the right time to read it; I was in the mood for fast paced books. In the meantime, however, I have already finished three books in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, so surely I can finish this one! Many people who love the same books as I do, love The Secret History, so I really should pick it up soon.


6. Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

Another YA contemporary that made it onto my list, another one I will never read. Girl Online was so popular when it came out, so I bought it. But now, literally no one talks about it anymore. Never have I seen it on Bookstagram or on BookTube. While this looks like a quick read and fun, that’s not all I look for in books anymore. Also, I’m 21 years old, I’m probably too old to enjoy this anyway.


7. Me Before You by Jojo Mojes

I’m pretty sure I bought Me Before You before I was aware of all the hype. In the meantime, I’ve seen so many positive, but also negative reviews of this. Unfortunately, I have been spoiled so I already know what’s going to happen. While I want to read it myself, I’m afraid it’s going to be a waste of time because I won’t feel that connected to the characters. Still, I love books that make me cry, so I might give it a go.


8. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

When the movie adaptation of The Book Thief came out, I bought the book, with the ugliest movie tie-in cover! Why did I used to do that?! Seriously, what the hell was wrong with me?! Anyway, I still haven’t read the book, nor watched the film. This is still on my TBR, though obviously not a priority. I’ve seen some mixed reviews, but I enjoy some historical fiction from time to time.


9. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

This is another one of those book I can’t believe I haven’t read yet. And I can’t explain why. I’d like to read it before I watch the movie. The book seems so creepy, maybe I should pick it up around Halloween. Again, I’ve seen some mixed reviews, but I really want to read it myself because it seems so original. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything like it.


10. The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

I didn’t love The Silver Linings Playbook movie, yet I did buy the book afterwards. While I don’t remember much from the film, I’d still like to read it. I’m in my twenties now and more interested in reading adult contemporaries than I was at the time when I bought it.

 

Which books are on your list? Let me know!

(Originally written in July 2016.)

7 thoughts on “TTT: Ten Books That Have Been On Your Shelf From Before You Started blogging That You STILL Haven’t Read Yet (August 23)

Leave a Reply

