T5W: Books You Want to Read Before the End of the Year (August 24)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining!

This week’s topic is books you want to read before the end of the year. I won’t include any books that haven’t been released yet nor any re-reads, only books I already own, to make it more interesting.

These are the five books I want to read before the end of the year in no particular order:


1. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

https://i2.wp.com/www3.alibris-static.com/outlander/isbn/9781784751371_l.jpgI started reading Outlander on June 23th, but I haven’t made a lot of progress. I did the exact same thing when I started reading A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin last year: I picked up smaller books instead to catch up on my reading challenge.

I’ve only read about one hundred pages, but I really enjoyed it. I’ve said this a million times already, but I really should pick this up more often.


https://i1.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51idthYn3xL.jpg2. A Feast for Crows and A Dance of Dragons by George R.R. Martin

I expect The Winds of Winter to come out later this year or early 2017. Maybe that’s just wishful thinking, but I want to have finished A Feast for Crows and A Dance of Dragons by then.


https://i0.wp.com/www.thelunarchronicles.com/uploads/book-covers/9781250113221_FC.png3. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I have already started this series and want to finish it quickly! I enjoy Meyer’s writing and I haven’t seen many negative reviews of this series, so I’m very curious to discover what the characters will experience in the next books.


4. Salt to the Seahttps://i0.wp.com/zoereads.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/Salt-to-the-Sea-450x645.png

Everyone seems to love Salt to the Sea and I expect I will too. It seems like the perfect novel to read on a rainy autumn day. I don’t know a lot about it, but Maggie Stiefvater recommended it, so I’m definitely intrigued.


https://veschwab.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/vicious_cv.jpg?w=82&h=1255. V.E. Schwab

My sister loves Schwab’s books and is begging me to read Vicious and A Darker Shade of Magic. While the synopsis’s (is that even a word?) don’t seem that appealing to me, I have only seen positive reviews. Plus, her books aren’t focused on romance and love that idea! Finally!


Honestly, this list could be one hundred books longer, since my TBR is so huge! Which books do you still need to read this year?

(Originally written on July 30th, 2016.)

13 thoughts on “T5W: Books You Want to Read Before the End of the Year (August 24)

Leave a Reply

