The Ultimate Book Tag

Chapter Chicks created this tag! There are 25 questions, so let’s get started!

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Sadly, I do. I can handle reading on the train, but I can’t do it on a bus either though.


2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

George R.R. Martin’s style is something I didn’t imagine I could ever get used to. I thought it was very dense and sometimes overly detailed. But, it works perfectly in A Song of Ice and Fire. I also adore Maggie Stiefvater and J.K. Rowling’s writing styles.


3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter because:

  • I have never read any Twilight books so I can’t compare;
  • J.K. Rowling managed to create an entirely unique universe;
  • it has no stupid love triangle! Bless Rowling for never getting Hermione involved with both Harry and Ron!

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

I do own some bookish bags, but I don’t really know what a book bag specifically is…


5. Do you smell your books?

Not often, but I do prefer the smell of new books!


6. Books with or without little illustrations?

With! There should be more books with illustrations, because they add so much beauty.


7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

When I first read Shatter Me, I loved it, even though the writing style wasn’t my cup of tea. When I read Unravel Me and Ignite Me, I noticed how annoying the main character actually was! And the author forces this love interest upon us, it’s impossible to like the other guy. I really hate that since I want to make up my own mind.

The Fault in Our Stars was one of the first books I’ve read in English. I absolutely loved it. I plan on re-reading soon, since I want to know whether I still feel the same way about it. Still, I won’t go as far as hating John Green, as most readers do by now. Yes, maybe TFIOS was over-hyped, but it meant a lot to some people, so they shouldn’t tear it down.


8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Sadly, I didn’t read much when I was a kid.


9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

Probably The Grownup by Gillian Flynn or Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell.


10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Harry Potter: Page to Screen looks the thickest, but it only has about 530 pages. I think one of the books in A Song of Ice and Fire might be the thickest, since some of them are almost 1.200 pages!


11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I have a story idea in my head, but I’m not sure whether I’m going to write it down. I have zero writing experience! I think, because I read many books, I’d ‘copy’ too many thinks from my favourite books. And of course, that’s no good.


12. When did you get into reading?

I only got into reading a few years ago. I read the Harry Potter books and then I read some popular contemporaries, like TFIOS, If I Stay and Eleanor & Park. Soon, I kept buying and reading books and my obsession started!


13. What is your favorite classic book?

Honestly, I rarely read classics so I haven’t encountered a favourite yet.


14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

Yes, it was! Well, only English was, I wasn’t the best at French and German, two other foreign languages I had to study.


15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

I don’t think this would ever happen to me, since I either get money or give the person a list to choose from. I don’t know what I’d do though. I’d be disappointed, but it would be rude to tell them…


16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Honestly, most of the books I read are quite popular. That’s how I discover them. I can’t think of anything right away, sorry!


17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming?

This question might seem odd now, but this was originally a booktag on YouTube. Anyway, when I used to film videos, I think my bad habit was my inconsistent language. My native language is Dutch but I film in English. In college, I have to speak British English, but an American accent comes more naturally to me. Well actually, something that’s supposed to sound like an American accent, to be honest πŸ™‚


18. What is your favorite word?

I don’t have one!


19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I have no idea what the difference is between all of them. I guess you could say I’m kind of nerd-y, but I wouldn’t want to be a part of the nerd culture that sees themselves as society’s victims (“I’m a geek and no one understands how awesome I actually am. Other people suck!!”).


20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

I think fairies, since that hasn’t been done as much as vampires. I’d be difficult to come up with an original vampire story, while I’d love to read some more books about fairies!


21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

I haven’t read much about either, actually! They both sound very interesting, but shapeshifters would catch my attention even more.


22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Ghost stories might be a little too scary for my taste, so I’m going for werewolves! After all, one of my favourite characters (Remus Lupin) is a werewolf!


23. Zombies or Vampires?

Neither? I wouldn’t avoid stories about them but I wouldn’t pick them up because of it either.


24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Forbidden love, all the way! I hate love triangles, but forbidden love, when done right, is one of my favourite things ever. Sadly, it’s rarely executed well…


25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Definitely the latter! I might enjoy a romance once in a while, but there are too many things I don’t like about the genre. It’d be refreshing to read books with few love scenes, honestly.


(written in July 2016)

One thought on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. rashthedoctor says:

    if you want a good fairy read than I suggest go and read Dresden Files the 4th book in the series is especially concerned about the Fae’s and it’s a unique fae setting , there’s also a unique vampire world in the series , check my blog for reviews , if you think you can handle the cons of the series than the series really picks up from book #4

    Like

Leave a Reply

