TTT: TV shows I love to re-watch! (September 6)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! Here is this week’s topic:

In honor of Fall Tv, do a tv-themed topic! Top ten favorite tv shows of all time, ten new shows coming out this Fall that are on my radar, tv shows I wish never got cancelled, tv shows I would recommend to book characters, books I wish would be tv shows, ten favorite shows from the late 90’s or early 2000’s, ten tv shows for every fantasy lover, etc.

I love watching TV. I probably spend more time watching TV than reading. I chose to talk about the ten TV shows I never get tired of and love to re-watch. Here we go, in no particular order:


TTT_august31.png
1. Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones is probably my all time favourite TV show. Which is odd, because I have so many problems with it. There’s so much unnecessary female nudity and (sexual) violence. Some things are only shown purely for shock value. This especially bothered me a lot during the fifth season. But the sixth one is so much better! It has really improved and I’m already looking forward to the final two seasons. I really wish they weren’t so short and we didn’t have to wait that long…

Because I read the books after having re-watched each season multiple times, I like that the storyline isn’t exactly the same. Otherwise, it’d be like reading the script. Still, I prefer the books. The characters have more depth and it isn’t as ‘shocking’ as the show.


2. Breaking Bad

Since watching Breaking Bad, I have started a lot of series within that same genre, like Narcos. I love watching these kinds of shows, but at as a woman, there are also things that bother me. For some reason, the people who create this think only men will watch it. Shows like Breaking Bad feature only a limited amount of female characters and most of the time, they aren’t considered important.

Skyler and Jesse are my favourite characters in this series. I absolutely hate Walter. He’s not an anti-hero, he’s a villain. He’s selfish and gets others in danger because it’s never enough. While I dislike the main character, I still love watching this show over and over again!


3. F.R.I.E.N.D.S

Friends is probably the TV show I have re-watched the most! When I was growing up, my dad loved this and soon, my sister and I started watching it as well.

This year, I re-watched it again. Now that I’m older, I do realise how problematic some things are. Some of the things they do, would not be allowed in 2016. They constantly make fun of the fact that Carol, Ross’ ex-wife, ‘became a lesbian’, Chandler’s dad who is either trans or a drag queen (it’s really not clear on the show), is always being made fun of, Ross is an awful boyfriend, Joey sees every woman as an object… I still enjoy watching this, but these things make me cringe. I hope today’s comedies make the same mistakes.


4. Desperate Housewives

When I was a teenager, I spent a lot of money on the Desperate Housewives DVDs! I hate seeing them in stores now because I paid fifty euros for each season and you can now buy the entire series for less than that! Anyway, I know Desperate Housewives isn’t always realistic and it’s a bit dramatic, but I love it. Probably because of the female cast. There aren’t enough TV shows that feature so many women. I can’t wait to go back to Wisteria Lane ๐Ÿ™‚


5. Sex and the City

I love Sex and the City for the same reason as I love Desperate Housewives. But, Sex and the City is much ‘dirtier’. I love how it shows relationships from a female POV. And again, each woman is so unique. Everyone has their own personalities. I love it! I really want to buy a box set, but I don’t know which one. I’ve heard the quality of the DVDs is quite bad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ


6. Orange is the New Black

Orange is the New Black is probably one of the best TV shows to ever exist. The cast is so diverse: you have woman of all shapes and sizes, social background, race, sexualities… There is no other series with a cast as diverse as this. That’s honestly the main reason why I love this so much. Unfortunately, season 4 was a bit disappointing. It was too similar to the third season and Piper still hasn’t died! Does anyone even like that woman? The show would be even better if she would just leave! I really don’t care about her.


7. True Detective

The first season of True Detective is a masterpiece. I have already watched it three times and I already want to watch it again! Unfortunately, the cast isn’t diverse (lack of woman and POC) but the plot is really good.

I have only watched the second season once, but I had no idea what was going on. It wasn’t nearly as good as the first one. I don’t even remember the crime and who had done it. I wish we could get Rust (and Marty) back!


8. Skins U.K.

I don’t like going to clubs and don’t do drugs. That’s not the kind of stuff I’d enjoy. But I love watching Skins! It’s so British and filthy. That’s probably not the best choice of words but the things these characters get into… The second generation with Effie and Cook is by far my favourite. I couldn’t even finish the sixth season, I didn’t care about those charactes. But I really want to re-watch the third and fourth season again. Although, every episode is focussed on someone else and when it’s someone I don’t care about, I just stop.

I’ve heard some rumours there is going to be an eight season (I don’t know whether it’s true) and I would love that!


There are some other shows I re-watch as well, but these are my eight favourites! Which TV shows do you re-watch all the time? Let me know in the comments ๐Ÿ™‚

 

10 thoughts on “TTT: TV shows I love to re-watch! (September 6)

  1. rashthedoctor says:

    Agreed with the top 3, i gave watched Friends countless times and it still draws laughs out of me
    I didn’t really like the 2nd season of True Detective but it’s still awesome

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

