T5W: characters you’d want as family (6 September)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining!

This week’s topic is characters you’d want as family.

0609_characters_you_want_as_family.png

Here are some characters I’d want as family in no particular order:

1. Ronan Lynch (The Raven Cycle)

I’d want to be friends with the entire gangsey. I love them so much, especially Noah, Ronan and Adam. Anyone who has read the books, knows Ronan is a very intense person. I can’t imagine having him as a sibling is easy, but I do think he loves you unconditionally. Granted, Declan and Ronan didn’t always get along, but I know they love each other and would do anything to save the other. Not to mention how much he loves Matthew and Opal. Oh, and imagine having a brother who you can give you whatever you want!

2. Claire Fraser/Randall/Beauchamp (Outlander)

Okay, here’s the thing: I love Claire so much – I get emotional just thinking about her – but I can’t figure out whether I’d want her to be my wife, or if I see her more as a mother figure. And yes, I realise how disturbing that sounds. Anyway, Claire is one of the best female characters to ever exist: she is so fierce and doesn’t take shit, yet is very kind. I want to be like her, but I don’t dare to be.

3. Sansa Stark (A Song of Ice and Fire)

Once again, I can’t figure out whether I’d want Sansa as my sister, or as my wife (when she’s older, of course). What is wrong with me?

I love all the Starks so much and would want to be one myself, if that didn’t mean I’d be in constant danger. You’ve got to admit: that family goes through a lot! I wouldn’t be able to handle that. But, in an alternate universe, I’d want the Starks to be my family, especially Sansa.

4. Ron Weasley (Harry Potter)

I am very protective of Ron. A lot of people in the fandom dislike him and I don’t think he deserves the hate he receives. He’s not my all time favourite Harry Potter character, but  whenever people say something bad about him, I start loving him more and more. So, I’d definitely want to be his sister so I can protect him in Hogwarts, and from Muggles.

5. Maura Sargent (The Raven Cycle)

In most books, the protagonist grew up without her family, or family is not important. That is not the case in The Raven Cycle, however. It features all kinds of family dynamics (both good and bad) and Maura Sargent is one of the coolest moms I have ever read about.


This week’s topic wasn’t easy! I mainly picked characters I liked and probably didn’t really think about why I’d want them as family. Oh well! Which characters would you want as family? Feel free to leave a link to your T5W-post!

8 thoughts on “T5W: characters you’d want as family (6 September)

  1. paperjasmine says:

    Ronan yes! And even more of a YES has to go to Ron Weasley! I wanted to put him on my list, but then it was soon going to become a HP family list haha. He’d be an amazing brother though, that’s for sure! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. debbieslibrary says:

    I really need to read The Raven Cycle and Outlander! I really like Ron as a character and I think he would be a great sibling, in the Chamber of Secrets is shown how much he cares from Ginny. And Ron doesn’t deserve the hate he gets.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

