The Reader Confessions Tag

This tag was created by BookishCinders! I love confessing my unpopular opinions, so here we go:

1. Have you ever damaged your own book?

Yes, I have. Sometimes, I open the book too much and crease the spine. Or I bend the front cover. But trust me, even the smallest amount of damage drives me insane! That’s why I don’t like it when people borrow my books.


2. Have you ever damaged a BORROWED book?

The only books I’ve borrowed, were my sister’s. Once again, I have never completely damaged a book, but maybe creased the spine or bent the cover.


3. How long does it take you to read a book?

Last year, I was a quick reader. I finished books in one to three days. Unfortunately, that’s not the case anymore. Whenever I’m reading a book that’s only 300 pages long for over three days, it kills my enjoyment. Those kind of books aren’t meant to be read that slowly.

I get distracted very easily, especially by my phone. I can’t tell you how many times I put a book down in the middle of a chapter!


4. Books that you haven’t finished?

I finish most books I start. I actually think I should DNF books more often. I don’t know why I always try to struggle through them. Maybe that’s because I always buy physical copies and don’t like the feeling of wasting money.

Some books I didn’t finish are Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton, City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare, Confess by Colleen Hoover, Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo… though I’m still unsure whether I won’t pick some of these up again one day.


5. Hyped/Popular books you don’t like?

I couldn’t get into The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare because of the protagonist, Clary Fray. I didn’t finish City of Ashes and don’t want to read another book by Clare. Her series are so popular, but they don’t really appeal to me.

I’ve read The Assassin’s Blade and Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. While those definitely weren’t bad, I’m not convinced whether I should continue this series. Everyone seems to love it, but I only hear about the romance: team Chaol, Dorian or Rowan? I haven’t heard much about the plot and since I’m not the biggest fan of romance in YA fantasies, I don’t think I will continue it.

The A Court of Thorns and Roses series, however, also by Sarah J. Maas, is definitely one I won’t continue. I liked the first instalment, but I’ve heard too many things about A Court of Mist and Fury that I won’t like. Sadly, Sarah J. Maas and I don’t get along. I really wish I could get as hyped up as everyone else, but I’m just not a fan…


6. Classics you didn’t enjoy?

I rarely read classics, because I don’t enjoy them. I can’t connect to the characters and the writing style is too difficult for me to get through.


7. Books you bought just for the intellectual-ness of it all?

I can’t really think of any. In my July 2016 book haul, you’ll see I bought a couple of non-fiction books, but I do plan on reading those one day.


8. Any books you haven’t given back?

No, because I never borrow books. But if I ever move out of the house, my sister and I surely are going to fight over ‘our’ books. Sometimes, we each pay half so we can both read it, but who will get to keep it on their shelves??? I know what the cause of World War III is going to be…


(written in August 2016)

4 thoughts on “The Reader Confessions Tag

  1. rashthedoctor says:

    1 to 3 days? wow that’s really fast , i don’t think i have ever completed a book in 1 day , my fastest book even took me 5 days , guess that’s why people call me slow reader.

    I can relate to breaking book spines , it’s simply inevitable when you read fantasy genre , most books are over 400 pages and often times the spines just break irrespective of how cautious you are

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      That was last year, unfortunately, I don’t read that fast anymore 😦 To be honest, I only read books about 300 to 400 pages back then. Now, I read bigger books (like ASOIAF!). I’m already dreading for college to start again, I barely have time to read then.

      Yes, that’s true. My copies of ASOIAF look as if they have been read multiple times, but I’ve only read them once so far… I’m okay with that because I love them enough to buy the hardcovers as well, but I can’t afford to do that every time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

