T5W: books you want to see as TV shows (September 14)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining!

This week’s topic is books you want to see as TV shows. I’m very excited to talk about this, so let’s get started!

1409_books_you_want_to_see_as_TV_shows.jpg
1. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I have said this a million times already and I will say it again: The Raven Cycle has to be a Netflix Original Series. It wouldn’t work well as a film (series) and no other network is allowed to touch this.

While I enjoy the Shadowhunters TV show, it is also incredibly bad at times. I don’t want that to happen to my favourite books. I’d freak out if a channel like Freeform decided to adapt this.

I’d want the show to stay true to the books, but I think they would have the opportunity to offer more glances between Ronan and Adam, more relationship build-up between Gansey and Blue and I’d definitely want them to change the ending, since The Raven King didn’t satisfy me. Also, they’d get to introduce Henry as an important character much more early on, which was one of the mistakes Stiefvater made (in my opinion). It’s the reason why I couldn’t connect with him; I felt as though he replaced Noah.

Even though I’m not completely happy with everything that Maggie wrote, I’d still want her to be very involved.

I actually have tons of fancasts for these characters already, so check out my Pinterest if you’re interested!


2. the Marauders era (Harry Potter)

I’m one of those people who wants more Marauders material. Prisoner of Azkaban is probably my favourite book (and movie!) in the series and I want to know more about their years at Hogwarts. We got a few glances, but I want to actually see all of their adventures!

I’m not sure whether I’d want JK Rowling to be involved though. This year, she really started to annoy me. I actually talk about this more in my first book talk. If she were involved, every single character would be white and straight. And that’s not how I (and many others) imagine these characters. But, if she weren’t involved, it might turn into another Cursed Child fiasco.

Once again, I’d want Netflix to be in charge, since they are the only ones I trust when it comes to storyline, casting and diversity.


3. The Foxhole Court by Nora Sacavic

While I didn’t end up loving The Foxhole Court as most readers, I did really like the characters. The storyline was a bit too dramatic for my taste, but I still think this could work really well as a TV show.

Most TV series still lack diversity and that’s why I’d want a The Foxhole Court TV series.


 4. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I have only read Cinder, but since there are four books in this series (and a bunch of novellas), there is more than enough material to create a TV show from. This could probably work as a film as well, but I tend to watch more series than movies.


5. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

I read Aristotle and Dante over a year ago and loved it! I read it in one sitting, so I honestly don’t remember that much anymore. It’s time for a re-read 😉 Because of its diversity and themes, I think this would make a good TV show. Most adaptations are focussed on action and plot, but I really think a TV series could develop the characters (and relationships) even further. This would be so relaxing to watch!


Which books do you want to see made into TV shows? Feel free to leave a link to your ‘F5W’-post in the comments! Also, I’m very excited that The Song of Achilles is going to be a TV mini-series!

6 thoughts on “T5W: books you want to see as TV shows (September 14)

  1. rashthedoctor says:

    hmm strange , i think i saw you review that Aristotle & Dante book , it said it was a re-read and in the review you said that you didn’t like it as much as you did in your first reading ? I may have been wrong

    Anyways , good list , I agree i only trust Netflix and HBO these days DO NOT Like networks making changes and ruining your favorite series , it’s something I did write about in my T5w today , just forgot to make demands of Netflix and HBO i guess.

    And Speaking of T5W , Here’s mine – https://ablogaboutbook.wordpress.com/2016/09/14/top-5-wednesday-6-14th-september-2016-books-you-want-to-see-as-tv-shows/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      Yes, that’s true 😉 I write all of my posts in advance, except for my reviews. So at the time (when I wrote this post), I hadn’t re-read Ari and Dante yet. But I’d still watch it if they were to adapt it, I just didn’t love the book as much as I did the first time anymore.

      Oh, I see The Kingkiller Chronicles is on your list! I really want to start that series 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma says:

    Yes, yes, yes to The Raven Cycle and Harry Potter Marauders TV shows – wonderful list! Prisoner of Azkaban is my favourite book and film of the series too so I too would definitely welcome a more sustained look into Hogwarts in the Marauders era. 🙂

    (My list)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

