Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag was created by TheBookArcher. You can watch the original video here!

About a year ago, I created a BookTube. My very first video was actually this tag! In the meantime, however, I have made all of my videos private. Some people I know in real life had discovered my Bookstagram and I really didn’t want them to watch my videos as well. That’s why I decided to do this tag again today, but with updated answers of course πŸ™‚

These are my opinions and I do not mean to attack or personally offend anyone. It’s okay if you disagree with me, but please, stay civil. Anyway, let’s get started!


1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

Where do I start? I’ve got quite a number of books I can choose from.

I won’t continue The Mortal Instruments series. And I feel bad about that, because I already own the entire series (I’m such an idiot for buying them all!). I read City of Bones a year ago and had some problems with it (e.g. Clary’s sexist responses to Izzy). When the Shadowhunters TV show came out, I decided to continue the series. I read about half of City of Ashes and had to put it down. I dislike Clary a lot and it was actual torture for me to constantly read from her perspective. Whenever I dislike the protagonist, I will dislike the book. That’s why I don’t get along with anti-heroes as main characters. So because I did not like Clary, I decided to not continue this series anymore. I know a lot of people love this, but I really tried and I just can’t.

Other popular series I don’t like are the Shatter Me trilogy, the Falling Kingdoms series…

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is one of the worst ‘books’ I have ever read, but I’m certainly not the only one who feels this way.


2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

I used to love The Fault in Our Stars, but I started re-reading it last month and couldn’t even finish it. Last year, this was my choice for this question, but this year, I am going for the Captive Prince trilogy. I completely understand why people hate it and I have many problems with it myself, but I really enjoyed the second book.


3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn people for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

I don’t dislike Kaz x Inej (Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo), but I like the other pairings more. And that’s probably because I don’t like Kaz as much as other people. Don’t get me wrong: I certainly don’t hate him, but I’m not a fan of those types of male characters. However, I do need to re-read Six of Crows before Crooked Kingdom comes out and might feel a different way the second time around.

A pairing I do dislike is Warner and Juliette from the Shatter Me series. The author completely ruined the other love interest to make sure everyone was going to ship these two. I think that’s a cheap method to use. Sarah J. Maas has done this as well and that’s why I won’t continue both of her series. I know it’s going to piss me off, and I read for my own enjoyment, so won’t put myself through it.


4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

My answer still hasn’t changed: classics. Dutch is my first language, but I always read books written in English. Because the language in classics is older, I find it difficult to get through. Furthermore, I can’t really connect with the characters because times were so different. Or maybe I haven’t read the right classics yet.


5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

I’m not able to forgive Rhysand for what he did in A Court of Thorns and Roses, so I will never like him. That’s one of the reasons why I won’t read A Court of Mist and Fury. As I’ve mentioned before, I struggle reading about characters I don’t like, so I’m going to stay away from that one.

Everyone seems to love Tyrion Lannister from A Song of Ice and Fire, but I absolutely hate him. The TV show glorifies him, but he is so problematic in the books. Thankfully, he is only one of many POV-characters. If he were the only one, I certainly wouldn’t like these books as much as I do. I didn’t always feel this way, but I started noticing how he always did the same things over and over again in the show (he drinks wine and saves himself by the promise of his family’s gold – not his own) and the books truly showed me how overrated he is.


6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

I feel like I’m repeating myself, but I have to go with Sarah J. Maas. I started both of her series, but won’t continue them anymore. I’ve read some spoilers and won’t like what is going to happen. Furthermore, I don’t like some of the ‘tactics’ she uses. Some people have told me that I can’t say that before I have actually read all of the books myself, but trust me, I know I won’t like it. I don’t want to drag myself through it just to please others.

Another author I can’t get into is Cassandra Clare. I have already explained why I won’t continue The Mortal Intstruments, but I don’t plan on reading her other books set in the Shadowhunters universe either. If you read one without the other, you’ll get spoiled. And I don’t want that to happen. I know that doesn’t make any sense since I don’t plan on reading them anyway, but that’s the way my mind works.

I never got into David Levithan and Patrick Ness either. I’ve read a couple of their books and I just didn’t love them. And I really wish I did, since they (almost?) always include diversity! Unfortunately, I can’t force myself to like something 😦


7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Where do I start?!

  • love triangles and insta-love
  • special snowflakeΒ  / chosen one
  • misunderstood ‘bad boy’
  • orphans (no offence, but almost everyone’s parents are dead in YA?!)
  • resurrections (some characters should just stay dead)
  • ….

Actually, I should make a separate post about the tropes I hate, there are honestly so many! I love reading YA, but one of its downsides is definitely how predictable it is, because of all of these tropes 😦 So, I don’t actually hate the tropes, but how overused they are. There are definitely cases where it is done well, but I don’t understand why almost every YA (fantasy) features them.


8. A popular book / series that you have no interest in reading.

All of Cassandra Clare’s series, Twilight, 50 Shades of Grey, Beautiful Disaster…


9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

Look, the Shadowhunters TV show is really bad at times. Like, really bad. Yet, it features much more diversity than the books and I actually want to continue watching the show, whereas I don’t want to continue the books it’s based on.


What are some of your unpopular opinions? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. rashthedoctor says:

    i don’t like the Hunger games , i think that’s the only unpopular opinion i got , actually i kinda dig the first Hunger game book but the other 2 … No ! just NO

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loes says:

    I won’t continue The Mortal Instruments series either. Clary was so irritating.
    I’m also Dutch and had also problems to get into classics because the language was so difficult, but with a bit of extra time and practice I do fine. I don’t read a lot of classics but I read here and there some. HG wells writhing is easy to follow maybe you can try there if you haven’t yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      Hey Loes πŸ™‚ Ik zal in het Nederlands antwoorden, hopelijk vind je dat okΓ©! Inderdaad, Clary is zo irritant!
      Bedankt voor de aanbeveling πŸ™‚ Ik lees eigenlijk ook weinig classics omdat ik het moeilijker vind om mezelf in de personages te herkennen. Misschien komt dat deels ook wel door het taalgebruik. Op dit moment heb ik niet echt de behoefte om dat genre te lezen, er zijn genoeg Young Adult boeken die ik nog wil lezen πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

