T5W: characters you wouldn’t want to trade places with (September 21)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This is this week’s topic:

We always talk about how cool it would be to be a character in our favorite books, but who would you not want to trade places with?

As usual, these are in no particular order:

2109_characters_you_would_not_want_to_trade_places_with.png

1. Sansa Stark (A Song of Ice and Fire)

I probably talk about Sansa too much, but I don’t care. As much as I love her, I would never want to trade places with her. Anyone who thinks of her as weak, needs to reflect on how they would act in her situation. She goes through so much, I wouldn’t be able to survive all that. I find her reactions very realistic.

To be honest, I love all the Starks and I wouldn’t want to trade places with any of them!


2. Laia (An Ember in the Ashes)

Laia is another one of those characters that goes through so much, yet people find her weak. I really don’t understand that. I don’t think strong female characters have to kick ass or be sassy. That’s not the definition of ‘strong’. Strength can be emotional too.

An Ember in the Ashes is very violent, but not in a glorifying way. There’s rape and physical violence, but it’s not normalised; the book clearly shows how bad these circumstances are. I wouldn’t be able to stay as strong as Laia.


3. Tate (Ugly Love)

I read Ugly Love last year and loved it. I don’t know whether I’d still feel the same way about it today and that’s why I want to re-read it. I have the feeling I wouldn’t ship the two main characters anymore. I constantly change as a person and learn (about feminism, diversity…) and I wonder whether Miles was really the guy I thought he was.

Anyway, when I read about Tate, I related to her. She didn’t want their relationship to be purely physical, but she did it anyway. She thought he’d fall for her, even if he told her he wouldn’t. I’ve felt the same way in the past: doing whatever the other person wants, just to keep them close. But that’s not healthy. I realise that now and I never want to be in that kind of ‘relationship’ again.

Looking back, I really hate the person I became when I was in a relationship. I had my reasons, but I never want to feel that unhappy again. And that’s why I don’t like to read romances. There’s so much drama (or even abuse), yet everything is forgiven in the end, because ‘love conquers all’. I don’t support that idea anymore. It’s been a while since I’ve picked up a romance novel, but whenever I did, it made me so angry. Women are treated like shit and it’s heavily romanticised.


4. Sirius Black (Harry Potter)

Warning: major Harry Potter spoilers ahead!

Sirius spent years in prison for a crime he didn’t commit. When he escapes, he has to hide in the home of the people who abused him. And then, he dies. JK Rowling really didn’t give him a break.

I’d like to imagine his childhood was a lot of fun; hanging out with the other Marauders. But he ran away from home because of his family’s abuse. That must have had an impact on him, emotionally. I love the fandom’s headcanons, but I can’t help but feel like Sirius isn’t always a joker. His childhood wasn’t easy either.

A lot of Harry Potter characters go through traumatising events. When you start thinking about it, there are so many characters I wouldn’t want to trade places with, even though I’d love to be a part of the universe. Just think of Harry, losing his parents when he was a baby and growing up in that abusive household. Or Remus, who didn’t get accepted by others, not even within the wizarding community. I could go on. It’s really sad when you start thinking about it, actually.


5. Noah Czerny (The Raven Cycle)

I would do anything to be a part of the gangsey! So trading places with Noah might seem like a lot of fun. But no, HE DESERVED SO MUCH BETTER! I will never not be bitter about this. In The Raven King, he was barely mentioned. It seemed as if even his friends didn’t remember him. It makes me so sad. His best friend betrayed him when he was young and I think the gangsey also betrayed him, in a way. Obviously not to that extend, but they didn’t remember him, even though they had promised they would.


Which characters wouldn’t you want to trade places with? Let me know! Feel free to leave a link to your ‘Top 5 Wednesday’ post!

PS. I won’t do next week’s topic: Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre. I feel as if I have talked about my favourites far too many times now, so I don’t see the point in talking about them again!

4 thoughts on “T5W: characters you wouldn’t want to trade places with (September 21)

Leave a Reply

