Six of Crows: re-read! {spoiler-free}

six_of_crows.pngSix of Crows

by Leigh Bardugo

re-read from 11 to 23 September 2016

Goodreads rating: ★★★★★

actual rating: 4.75 stars

Read my original review here!


In preparation of the release of Crooked Kingdom, I decided to re-read Six of Crows first. I absolutely loved it last year. I actually wrote down a lot while reading this, but when I looked back on my original review, I noticed my opinion hasn’t changed much.

Nina, Inej and Matthias are still my favourite characters. I absolutely love the friendship between Nina and Inej! More books should feature female friendships.
These woman are so strong and important to the group, but I still felt as if they were ‘damsels in distress’ in the end. I hope Crooked Kingdom is going to exceed my expectations when it comes to Nina and Inej. I don’t want them both to be saved by the boys.

I’m absolutely Nina and Matthias trash. Which is quite surprising, since I don’t have that many straight ships, as you may have noticed by now. Their flashbacks are definitely my favourites.

I absolutely love how confident Nina seems. She is sexy and she knows it. Fat girls should be portrayed more often, instead of always being shown as insecure and wanting to lose weight. Nina is beautiful and doesn’t need to change.

Whenever people talk about Six of Crows, they talk about Kaz Brekker. He’s is probably my least favourite of the Crows. I don’t dislike him, but I like the others more. Furthermore, the possibility of a relationship between Kaz and Inej is also my least favourite. I’d rather see Nina and Matthias and Wylan and Jesper end up together than those two. Inej sees that Kaz struggles with her touching him, and she thinks the following:

“She knew it was the best he could offer. It was not enough.”

And we all know her other famous quote:

“I will have you without armor, Kaz Brekker. Or I will not have you at all.”

Look, I absolutely love and adore Inej, but it sounds as if she just wants Kaz to ‘get over’ his traumas and triggers. That is not going to heal him. This seems like an ultimatum.
Inej was a sex slave, so it would be completely understandable if she wouldn’t be comfortable when someone touches her. Kaz went trough another traumatic experience, yet he doesn’t have the right to be triggered? He should just get over it if he wants to be with her? That’s not fair.
Would you get pissed if your (perhaps asexual) partner wouldn’t want to have sex with you? No, that’s their choice. It doesn’t have anything to do with you. This is not the same as Kaz and Inej’s situation, but I just want to make clear that his revulsion has nothing to do with her, and it seems as if she knows that.
I don’t want these characters to end up together, because I think they both would have to settle and compromise too much. Inej wants to go after slavers and if she decides to stay with Kaz, that might not be possible anymore. I don’t want her to give up her hopes and dreams for a boy.

Another reason why I’m not the biggest fan of this pairing is the following quote:

“I’m going to get my money, and I’m going to get my girl.”

I hate that quote so much. She is not your girl. I really hope she will be able to save herself. That’s my biggest concern for Crooked Kingdom.

Sometimes, I didn’t think the different POVs were that necessary. We would follow the conversations between different characters and didn’t learn a lot about the person who was witnessing it. I really like Jesper, but from all the POV characters, I got to know him the least of all. Which leads me to Wylan: I really like him, but I think he’s hiding something because we don’t get any chapters from his POV in this one. I think that’s strange.

Anyway, people who think the thing between Jesper and Wylan is just friendly banter, piss me off. They are two canonly queer characters, yet so many people don’t want to acknowledge that. Whenever two straight characters have even he slightest interaction, there are many people who will ship them. But when it comes to two boys, some people refuse to admit something more is going on between them. I’m sorry, but that’s homophobic. Like I’ve said, when two straight people act like this, everyone is happy, but when it’s two boys, suddenly, y’all are like ‘no homo’ and ‘they’re just friends’.

The diversity in this book is perfect. We have multiple people of colour and queer characters. Furthermore, we have a fat girl and a boy who deals with trauma. More books should be like this!

Leigh Bardugo has pretty much confirmed that someone (or more than one character?!) is going to die in the final installment. I’m very attached to these characters, so I obviously don’t want that to happen. But on the other hand, I don’t like very happy endings either. If everyone survived, that would be too easy. I really don’t want the girls to die or the queer characters. Just look at TV shows like The Walking Dead and The 100: we are always the first ones to die and I am sick of it. So that leaves Matthias and Kaz. I love Matthias so much, so if I had to choose, I’d “want” Kaz to die. But I doubt that’s going to happen, since he seems like the main character, more than the others. I realise that this is an incredibly unpopular opinion, but like I’ve said: I don’t hate him, he’s just my least favourite Crow.

Conclusion: I absolutely loved re-reading this: I love the characters and the plot. But for some reason, I still can’t rate this a full five stars. That’s possibly because it took me almost two weeks to re-read it. I hate it when I’m reading a relatively short book for such a long time. After a while, I just get fed up with it. There are so many books I still want and need to read. I’d rather read another book before starting Crooked Kingdom, but because I have already received it and am afraid of getting spoiled, I’ll start it right away!

4 thoughts on “Six of Crows: re-read! {spoiler-free}

  1. rashthedoctor says:

    Ok i haven’t read this series but it’s on my TBR and I hope what I’m going to type next won’t offend you in any ways but every time i read the word “nina” by first glance made it appear as “ninja” to me , & i would totally read a book with Ninja’s on it 😁

    Anyways , loved your first review , happy the re-read didn’t change it much 🙂

    Like

  2. hiraethforthepages says:

    Love your review! I would love to read this book and I’m highly anticipating the read of this book, this review just gets me all the more excited 🙂 The friendships seem all so amazing and the ships sound great! I haven’t heard a lot of reviews with this viewpoint and so it is so so interesting to read this perspective! I know a lot of people love Kaz the most but its so interesting hearing about the other characters too! Again, great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

