‘This or That’ Book Tag

I saw this tag on Kayleigh‘s beautiful blog! As usual, I wasn’t tagged by anyone, but this seemed fun to do!


1. Audio book or physical book?

I’ve only listened to audiobooks twice, so I’ll definitely choose physical books. I love staring at my shelves and hope I will have an enormous collection in a few years.


2. Paperback or hardback?

I buy many more paperbacks, but if I had the money, I’d choose hardbacks. Unfortunately, I can’t afford to do that each time I want to add a book to my collection. Also, I don’t do a lot of research before buying something. If I wouldn’t enjoy it, I’d hate it if I had bought it in hardcover! What a waste of money that would be! Although… they would look pretty on my bookshelves πŸ™‚


3. Fiction or non-fiction?

Fiction! I rarely read non-fiction. I read to relax and non-fiction just doesn’t seem that entertaining…


4. Fantasy or real life?

I enjoy reading both, but contemporaries feature so much drama. While a lot of fantasies have the same tropes (instalove, special snowflake, love triangle…) I still enjoy them more. When I don’t like a contemporary, I will probably hate it. Whereas I might still like some things from a fantasy I didn’t enjoy.


5. Harry Potter or Twilight?

I have never read and I’m never going to read Twilight, so definitely Harry Potter! It’s my favourite series. Each time I read it, it feels like coming home. I will never get tired of re-reading or re-watching Harry Potter!


6. Kindle, iPad, or other?

Last year, I bought an iPad. One of the reasons was e-books. I enjoy reading them, but I don’t do it often anymore. I really should since I buy too many physical books which I don’t end up loving.


7. Borrow or buy? AND 8. Bookstore or online?

I live in Belgium and I only read English books. That doesn’t leave me a lot of options. I can either go to the local library with a very limited selection of old English books, I can go to expensive bookshops or I can order my books online at a reasonable price. And the latter is what I do. Granted, I do have to wait some time until I receive my books, but I don’t mind much. Sometimes I do get jealous that people in the UK and USA have access to such amazing book stores and libraries, but I’m already thankful that online shopping exists.

Another thing I dislike about living in Belgian is the lack of signings. I see so many people from the UK and USA who go to these amazing bookish events, which don’t exist here 😦


9. Trilogy or stand-alone?

I like both, but I do tend to read more series. However, not a lot of trilogies. Every author seemed to write trilogies a couple of years ago, but that’s less the case now. It really depends whether each book adds enough to the story. We can all think of trilogies that didn’t need to be three books long.

I dislike it when an author says a series is going to be a certain amount of books long, but then they decide to add more. I don’t think they stay true to their original story then, but only try to please the fans.


10. Monster read or short and sweet?

This year, I have read quite a few big books and I like that! I started Outlander, which is really good and I loved the first three books I have read in the A Song of Ice and Fire series so far!


11. Romance or Action?

Definitely action. Well, my favourites are actually character-driven. The more (heterosexual) romance I read in books, the more I dislike it. It’s rarely refreshing and sometimes gets in the way of the actual plot.


12. Curl up nice and warm or sunbathing?

If I curl up nice and warm, I’ll probably fall asleep. Sometimes, reading can make me very tired. Does that say more about me, or about the book I’m reading? Anyway, I do like reading while sunbathing, but sometimes, it’s just too damn hot!


13. Hot chocolate or latte?

Neither! I’m sorry, but I don’t like warm drinks.


14. Read the review or decide your yourself?

I used to read reviews before I bought books, but I got spoiled too many times and decided to be more careful. If a book gets a lot of hype and positive ratings, I’ll check it out.


15. Bookmarks or dog-ears?

Bookmarks! I used to dog ear, which I would never do anymore! I want all of my books to stay in perfect conditions.


16. Alphabetise by author, title or other?

My bookshelves are currently arranged by colour. I like to change things from time to time. I don’t think I’d alphabetise my books though, I’d rather order them by size instead.


17. Keep the dust jacket or toss the dust jacket? AND 18. Read with the dust jacket, or remove it?

While reading, I don’t keep the dust jacket on (I don’t want to damage it). But, if I put the book back on my shelves, the dust jacket goes back on.


19. Short story or novel?

I prefer books where I can get attached to the characters, so novels. There’s often not enough time in a short story to get to know them well enough.


20. Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?

I have never read or heard of Lemony Snicket, so once again I have to go with Harry Potter!


21. Stop reading when you’re tired or stop reading at chapter breaks?

I try to finish the chapter before I go to sleep. But some books have very long chapters, so I have to stop in the middle of it then 😦


22. β€œIt was a dark and stormy night” or β€œOnce upon a time”?

I’m no horror fan, but I do like tension in books! “Once upon a time” would grab my attention as well, but “It was a dark and stormy night” appeals to me even more.


23. Tidy ending or cliffhanger?

Tidy endings, because I don’t like open endings. I don’t even like it when it’s done at the end of a chapter. I completely understand why authors do that, but it’s so laughable sometimes.


24. Morning, afternoon, or evening reading?

If I had the time, I would read throughout the entire day. Unfortunately, I don’t have the time, so I only read right before I go to bed in the evening.


25. Do you ever smell books?

Sometimes! I don’t do it often though, but I do like the smell.

2 thoughts on “‘This or That’ Book Tag

Leave a Reply

