TTT: Fall TBR (September 27)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is books on my Fall TBR!

On August 24th, I posted a list of books I want to read before the end of the year. It’s now a month later, and I haven’t finished any of those. I didn’t include any new releases or books I didn’t own already, but I will now.

Normally, I don’t do TBR’s. I am a mood reader and can never predict what I am going to read next. It’s always a struggle to pick up the next book I am going to read. So the books mentioned below are those I want to read, but I’m absolutely not sure whether I will.


So here are, in no particular order, ten books that are on my Fall TBR:

270916_fallTBR.png

1. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I want to read Crooked Kingdom, which is being released today, as soon as possible. Because I live in Belgium, I won’t have it right away. I want to read the final part in this duology before I get spoiled. Bardugo has hinted that someone (or more than one character!) might die, and that’s not something a fandom can keep a secret for long, unfortunately.


2. Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae was the second book I read this year, and probably one of the best ones so far. I am looking forward to Gemina, which comes out next month! However, I do think I might need to re-read Illuminae before I start that one. I have a terrible memory when it comes to books and want to make sure I understand all of the references.


3. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Because the movie is coming out, I want to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
this month. I’ve had this book on my shelves for quite a while now. But because of the mixed reviews, I’ve been holding it off. I haven’t even watched the trailer yet, because they can be quite ‘spoiler-y’. For some reason, I don’t think I will love this, but I do want to read it around Halloween (even though that’s not really a thing over here).


4. Harry Potter illustrated editions

I re-read books often (especially when a sequel comes out) and I want to re-read the Harry Potter series again. I will collect all of the illustrated editions. The Philosopher’s Stone one came out almost a year ago, and I still haven’t read it. It sure looks beautiful, but I wonder whether it is going to add something to my reading experiences. Still, I really want to read both Philosopher’s Stone and Chamber of Secrets again this fall.


5. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

When Salt to the Sea came out, everyone seemed to love this. I don’t hear much from it anymore now, but I still want to pick it up. It looks like the perfect read for a rainy day! I’ve probably been holding this book off because my paperback arrived damaged and I hate reading a book knowing it isn’t in perfect condition anymore 😦


6. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

A Little Life is another one of those books that looks perfect to read on a rainy day! I’ve heard this is very intense and graphic. For some reason, that makes me want to read it even more, even though I doubt whether I’ll be able to handle it.


7. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I don’t know much about Nevernight and I have heard mixed reviews, but somehow, I am drawn to this. I really want to read it even though I have no clue what it’s about.


8. The Lunar Chronicles by Melissa Meyer

Because I want to finish The Lunar Chronicles before the end of this year, I should probably start Scarlet this fall. I didn’t love Cinder but I know each books gets better and better. Still, the fact that I didn’t love it is definitely holding me back from continuing the rest of the series right away.


9. A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin

I have already started this and definitely want to finish it this fall. Then I can start A Dance with Dragons, so I can hopefully still achieve my goal of finishing this series in 2016 πŸ™‚ Well, finishing the books that have already been released, that is.


10. Books which feature diversity

My thesis is about diversity (and important themes such as trauma) in Young Adult and how we can incorporate them in the classroom. Therefore, I plan on reading many books I can use.


Which books are on your fall TBR? Feel free to leave a link to your ‘Top 10 Tuesday’-post below!

3 thoughts on “TTT: Fall TBR (September 27)

Leave a Reply

