September book haul: 15 books!

September_bookhaul.pngHello everyone! September was over so quickly! Unfortunately, I didn’t read nearly as many books as I had hoped to, but I’ll complain about that more in my September wrap-up. I did, however, buy a lot more books than I should’ve. I only buy about two books at a time, so I didn’t even realise how many I had actually acquired.

This month, a couple of BookTubers organised #diverseathon. I didn’t join myself, because I have never done a read-a-thon before. But I did buy a lot of the books that were recommended by those who did join! I am actually writing a thesis on diversity on Young Adult novels, so these books are going to help me out with that as well!

Let’s get started: here are the (fifteen!) books I got in September:


all photos featured are my own and were originally posted on Instagram!

Diverse books (not all featured in pictures):

All the Feels by Danika Stone (paperback)

I got this one based on one single review: there is a bisexual boy, and they actually mention he is bi! That was enough for me to get this 😀

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo (paperback)

I have already talked about the importance of ‘own voices’ in one of my Diversity Spotlight Thursday posts. And I have specifically discussed this book. I haven’t read If I Was Your Girl yet, but I know it is about a trans girl, written by a trans woman.

And I Darken by Kiersten White (hardcover)

This was partially a cover buy. I wanted to buy it for a while, but the mixed reviews kept me off. But when I found out this features diversity (I don’t know what specifically), I went for it!

Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman (paperback)

I had never heard of Noughts & Crosses before, but when doing research on diverse books, I found the premise of it very interesting!

Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour (paperback)

This is high on my TBR-pile! I don’t think I have ever read a book with a lesbian character, besides Ash, which I am currently reading. When books, films or TV shows feature LGBTQ-representation, it is often gay men. I don’t want to sound ungrateful, because it is good that they are represented, but other people from the community should be too. I hope Everything Leads to You isn’t going to disappoint 😀

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon (paperback)

The synopsis doesn’t seem that appealing to me – I’m not a big of fan young adult romance contemporaries anymore, and this one sounds like one – but I’ve only seen positive reviews!

Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin (paperback)

Unfortunately, my copy of Golden Boy arrived damaged, and I’m sad to say this happens often. Thankfully, Book Depository is going to send me a new one! Golden Boy is about an intersex boy. Last year, I read None of the Above, which was about a girl who found out she was intersex. I really enjoyed that and I hope Golden Boy will be as good.

Ash by Malinda Lo (paperback)

When Riley Marie mentioned Ash in one of her wrap-up videos, I was instantly intrigued. A lesbian retelling of Cinderella? Sign me up! I’m currently reading this, but I’m only a few pages in.

One by Sarah Crossan (paperback)

I honestly don’t know much about One. I know it’s written in verse, which would be new for me. Who am I kidding: this was a cover buy! I saw the hardcover at a reasonable price and decided to go for it, even though I have no clue what it’s about.


New releases:

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir (hardcover)

A Torch Against the Night came out on August 30th, but I received it a few days later. I re-read An Ember in the Ashes because I didn’t remember much, but I still haven’t started the sequel in the meantime. Hopefully, I won’t forget the events from the first one again once I actually do pick it up.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (paperback)

Crooked Kingdom was one of my most anticipated of releases of the year. As you can see on the photo, I own the hardcover edition of Six of Crows. I plan on getting Crooked Kingdom in hardcover as well, but it is too expensive now. The price is probably going to drop in a few months, so I forced my sister to buy a paperback copy. That one actually arrived a few days before the official release date! I have already finished it (you can read my review here), and am a bit disappointed. Once again, I will talk about that more in my September Wrap-Up.


passenger_legend_ruin_and_rising

I never buy books in bookstores anymore. They are much more expensive than the retailers online. But I had a coupon and if you bought two books, you got one for free, so I also got the following books this month:

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo (paperback)

Last year, I started Shadow and Bone, but didn’t finish it. I wasn’t in the mood for it. But because I love Six of Crows, I want to give it a second chance. I got Ruin and Rising, because they didn’t have Siege and Storm.

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken (paperback)

When Passenger came out, it was all anyone could talk about it. Since then, the hype has died down, but I still decided to get it. I have no idea what it’s about, but when enough people love it, I am always intrigued 🙂

Legend by Marie Lu (paperback)

I did not like The Young Elites by Marie Lu. But this series by her is even more popular, so I decided to get the first instalment.


deathly_hallows

I also got the US hardcover of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I already own that one about five times, but all of my editions are ones published in the UK. Therefore, I want to collect these US hardcovers. But because I have already spend hundreds of euros on the Harry Potter series and am still collecting the illustrated editions as well, I will get used copies. I didn’t pay a lot of money for Deathly Hallows, but the condition is still pretty decent 🙂 It’s always scary to buy used books online, but my experience has been pretty good so far.


Finally, I also got a couple of Funko Pops this month!

I got Wonder Woman, Margaery Tyrell and the Hogwarts Express with Hermione! Now I have three different Hermione Pops!


These were all of the books I got in September! I wish my wrap-up contained as many books as my book haul! 😀

 

One thought on “September book haul: 15 books!

Leave a Reply

