Bookish Bookin Book Tag

Hello everyone! This week I will be doing the Bookish Bookin Book Tag, created by AwesomeBookNut! I discovered this tag thanks to Thoughts on Tomes, my favourite BookTuber! Make sure to check out her video as well πŸ™‚


1. What is a well loved book that you hated?

I talk about the books I dislike quite a lot, so I won’t repeat any of my usual answers.

I did not enjoy reading The Young Elites by Marie Lu. It was the first book I read in 2016 and don’t even remember much about it anymore. I didn’t like the main character and when that happens, I almost never end up liking the book. Adelina is quite the anti-hero (or even villain?) and she was so indecisive. When she did make decisions, she made the wrong choices. I won’t continue this series as I am really not interested in what is going to happen next.


2. What is a guilty pleasure book?

The Captive Prince trilogy is problematic, but I did binge-read the series and enjoyed it. I certainly didn’t love it (except for the second book), but it was entertaining. However, I do understand why people don’t like it and I’m not going to defend it.


3. Have you ever spoiled a book for someone? If so, which book?

I don’t think I have. Sometimes when I’m ranting though, it is hard to stay vague. But then I ask my sister whether or not she’s still interested in reading that book. If she isn’t, I’ll discuss spoilers.


4. What book made you ugly cry?

The last book that made me ugly cry was The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. Which is strange, since I don’t even love that one. But I am so attached to the characters and couldn’t handle the possibility of something awful happening to them.


5. What is your latest DNF?

More than a month ago, I started re-reading The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I absolutely loved it years ago. I watched the film in cinemas twice and forced my friends to read it. I decided to re-read it because of the mixed reviews and I was wondering whether I still felt the same way. And I didn’t even finish it this time! If I had to, I could’ve, but I just wasn’t into it anymore. Probably because I know the story by heart anyway.


6. Which book have you read due to controversy?

As I just said, I tried to re-read The Fault in Our Stars because of the controversy. Other books I should re-read because of that are Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell and All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.


7. Have you read a book where you questioned the authors’ sanity?

I had to read A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby in college and absolutely hated it. I was so offended by it (the way they talk about suicide, statuary rape… made me so angry). When we discussed the book in class, no one agreed with me. Apparently, the author struggled with suicidal thoughts himself (I don’t remember exactly, but the book did contain personal elements) and I just don’t understand that, because the book is so offensive.

Last year, I tried to read New Adult novels, but most of them are filled with slut-shaming, problematic (or even abusive) behaviour… and I don’t understand how readers and authors think those relationships are romantic.


8. What is the most cringe-worthy book you’ve read?

Obviously I have to go with Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.Β The plot, the characters… literally everything made me cringe.

Another cringe-worthy book was Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo. The plot was so dramatic, I couldn’t help rolling my eyes on every other page.


9. What book have you read sole due to the cover?

I’m certainly one of those people who judge books by their cover. If a book has an ugly cover, I won’t be as excited to read it (or not even buy it).

When I read Shatter Me, I wasn’t that active on Goodreads yet. But those covers are beautiful, so I decided to read it without knowing much about it. I ended up disliking the trilogy, but I don’t think I’ll ever get rid of those books. They’re really pretty πŸ™‚


10. Name a book you’re embarrassed to admit you’ve read.

The only book I can think of is The Naughty Girls Book Club by Sophie Hart. I bought this erotica – it really wasn’t though – years ago. IN A BOOK SHOP! I can’t believe I actually bought that in a bookstore and not online.

I bought this around the time that Fifty Shades of Grey was really popular. I hadn’t read that many books by then and thought chick lit romances were my thing. Oh boy, was I wrong! I never read that genre anymore.

I’m not really embarrassed that I read it, because the sex scenes were really mild (I don’t even remember whether or not it was explicit), but I am embarrassed that I bought it and will certainly never show it on my Bookstagram :p


11. Name an unknown book you wish more people know of.

This is difficult, because most of the books I read are hyped. I want to make sure enough people like it before I buy it. However, lately I tried to step away from that because I want to read more books featuring diversity. And most of the books that are hyped, lack that.

Anyway, the first book I can think of is None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio. I read it over a year ago and quite liked it. I actually plan on re-reading it. It’s about a girl who discovers she is intersex and we see her struggle with her diagnosis. This book is written by a doctor, so the information is completely correct! I haven’t seen a lot of people talk about it and that’s why I chose this.


12. Name a favorite villain.

Most of the time, I’m not a fan of villains. In YA, these are often misunderstood bad boys and I’m not a fan of those.

One of my favourite villains is Joseph Kavinsky! Even though I don’t consider him as a villain myself :p But he is the bad guy (lmao I accidentally wrote bad gay first πŸ˜‰ ) in one of the books in The Raven Cycle. He’s actually one of my favourite characters in that series. I know he is a piece of shit. He’s awful! But I love him nonetheless. Just because you enjoy reading about characters, doesn’t mean you approve their actions.


13. Name a book you enjoyed that you read that is outside the norm of genre you usually read.

I usually don’t read books in the dystopia genre, but when I read the Hunger Games trilogy, I really enjoyed it.


14. Name tropes you actually enjoy reading.

As I mentioned in the Unpopular Opinions Tag, I dislike a lot of tropes because they are overused. Even when they are done well, it irks me that there are so many similarities between different YA fantasy series.

I’m not a huge fan of (heterosexual) romance, and definitely not in that genre. However, when forbidden romance is actually done right, I will probably love it. I’m a sucker for two people from different sides of society who fall in love. But it has to be good, not mixed with insta-love, love triangles…


15. What/who inspired you to join book tube?

I joined BookTube last year because I loved watching other people’s videos and wanted to make my own. But I didn’t have time to make videos anymore, so I decided to create this WordPress instead. No one inspired me to join either, but I do think I am opinionated enough to add something to the book community. For some reason that sounds really arrogant. But within the book community, I go looking for people who aren’t afraid to be honest and express their unpopular opinions. Furthermore, I look for people who talk about (the lack of) diversity and representation. I consider myself amongst that part of readers and reviewers and that’s one of the reasons why I joined these platforms.

In the meantime however, I have kind of deleted my BookTube. Some people I know in real life discovered my Bookstagram and I really didn’t want them to watch my videos too.


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

Leave a Reply

