T5W: books that took you the longest to finish (October 5)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

October 5th: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish:
These are the books that you had on your nightstand “in progress” for months or years. The books that you took weeks to read because they put you in a slump. Those books that were an uphill battle. These are books you started and actually read, not books you’ve just had on your shelf the longest.

I won’t include any books I have DNF’ed or those I quit and plan on reading again one day. These are books that are either still on my ‘currently reading’ shelf and those that took a long time to read. Just because they took a long time to read, doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy these books.


These are in no particular order:

051016_took_long_to_finishx.png

1. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

The books in this series are huge, so naturally, they took me long time to finish. But I started A Game of Thrones in July 2015 and only finished it in March 2016! I put it down for months. I watched the show before I picked up the books and the first season was still similar to the books. Sometimes, I had the feeling as if I was reading the script. That’s not the case anymore and I’m so glad I continued this series; it has become one of my favourites!


2. Vicious by V.E. Schwab

I started reading Vicious at the beginning of August 2016. That might not seem like such a long time, but it is only 340 pages long and I’m only on page 118. I have no desire to finish this, to be honest. I didn’t like it. But so many people love Vicious, including my sister. It’s one of her favourite books and she’d kill me if I didn’t finish it. Still, I can’t force myself to pick this up.


3. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

I started Outlander at the end of June 2016. Once again, that’s not that long ago, but I haven’t made that much progress. Unlike Vicious, I really want to read Outlander. But I am very much behind on my reading challenge, so I prioritize smaller books. I hope to finish it by the end of this year, but I doubt I will. I’m in my final year at college, so things are going to be even more hectic than they already were. Therefore, I don’t have a lot of time to read, and certainly not big books like Outlander.


4. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

The last time I read Order of the Phoenix, I started it in March 2015 and finished it on May 14th, 2015. Back then, I didn’t read as much books as I do now and I am certain I would finish it much more quickly if I were to read it now.


5. comic book volumes

This isn’t about any comic book or graphic novel in particular, but they always take me so long to finish. I read one issue at the time, and then I put it down for weeks or months. As a result, I forget what happened, which definitely gets in the way of my enjoyment. I really want to get into more and more comics and graphic novels, but I can’t help but enjoy reading books more.


To be honest, I could probably expand this list, because I don’t read as quickly as I want to. It already bothers me when it takes me a week to read a rather short novel. What are some books that took you a long time to read? Leave a link to your ‘T5W’ post if you want πŸ™‚


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

 

4 thoughts on “T5W: books that took you the longest to finish (October 5)

  1. thesassygeek says:

    A Dance With Dragons took me the longest to finish in the ASOIAF series but I am glad I finished it as well because it’s one of my favorite series as well! Definitely worth the push!
    I got 100 pages into Outlander and…still haven’t finished it but I want too as well, there are just other books I need to finish first.
    I’ve also seen Order of the Phoenix on a lot of lists today, I read it in the 5th grade so I don’t remember how long that one took me but probably a while, haha!
    Great list! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cate T. says:

    Nice list. I’ve read all of these books fairly quickly but then again, being the mood reader that I am, I came across them at the right time. Also, I half-listened, half-read Game of Thrones so I flew through it fast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

