‘We Should All Be Feminists’: go buy it now!

we_should_all_be_feministsWe Should All Be Feminists

by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

read on October 4, 2016

goodreads rating: ★★★★★


I could start off this review with a quote, but I won’t. There are too many good ones to choose from! I knew I was going to love this essay, and I wasn’t wrong. I agreed with every single thing she said, which doesn’t happen often when reading someone else’s thoughts.

I am a feminist. I have called myself this for a while now, but I still learn so much every day. I don’t agree with some of the things I said years, months, weeks or even a few days ago. I constantly grow. The word ‘feminist’ carries many negative (and untrue) connotations: feminists hate men, don’t shave, are angry because they are single or lesbians… Therefore, I won’t often call myself a feminist in public. I find it much easier to do that online. Still, I am a big fan of reclaiming the term and I hate it when people say they support equality, yet refuse to consider themselves feminists.
Last week, we had to discuss women of importance during the first World War. One of the people in my group came across a woman, but then said: “No, she’s a feminist, so we can’t discuss her”. I was so baffled, I didn’t even bother to prove her wrong. It’s really difficult to convince some people how important feminism is. Without feminists, we wouldn’t be able to vote right now. They have done so much for us. But that doesn’t mean men and women are equal now.

This essay is written by a Nigerian woman. I realise that feminism is even more necessary for them, than for me, a white woman. I absolutely love the fact that this wasn’t written by a white woman; it makes this so much more meaningful.

‘We Should All be Feminists’ was perfect. I could read a full length book about this and am interested to read more by this author. Naturally, this doesn’t discuss all the reasons why feminism is needed.

I could praise every single sentence separately (I highlighted so many), but I won’t. Do yourself a favour and buy this book; it’s so cheap anyway! If you aren’t interested in educating yourself, you are actually the one who needs to read this the most.

conclusion: This essay was perfect. If you aren’t convinced yet on why we need feminism, you should read this. If you are a feminist, you should also read this. In other words: everyone should read this!

Leave a Reply

