TTT: books I read because of the hype (11 October)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is the following:

October 11:  All About Books You Read Because of Recommendation — Ten Books I’ve Read Because Of Another  Blogger (Or Book Person) or Ten Books I Read On Recommendation From People Outside Of This Community or you could talk about recommendations of books you read from other sources — a magazine, a podcast, a “because you read this” algorithm.

I decided to go for books I read because of the hype. I’m going to be honest: most of the books I read are hyped. I have talked about this a few times before already: I buy physical copies of all of the books I want to read, so naturally, I want to make sure enough people like it. Sometimes, I might not be very interested in a synopsis, but I will still get the book nonetheless when a lot of people seem to love it.

These are in no particular order:

111016_hyped_books.jpg


1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas’ books are some of the most hyped ones in the Young Adult fantasy genre. I started both of her series, but I’m unfortunately not a fan of her work. I know her future work is going to be hyped as well, and I will probably read it therefore, even though I don’t exactly want to.


2. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

The synopsis of The Raven Boys doesn’t exactly seem appealing. It sounds as if it is going to be a romance novel, but that’s not the case. I didn’t fall in love with The Raven Boys right away and I even thought about DNF’ing The Dream Thieves. Thankfully, I didn’t, because it ended up becoming my favourite in the series. I gradually fell in love with the characters and I consider it my favourite series, even though I have mixed feelings about the final instalment (The Raven King).


3. Confess by Colleen Hoover

Before I decided to read Confess by Colleen Hoover, I had already read Ugly Love and Never Never (part one and two), which I enjoyed. Hoover has many fans, so I decided to pick up another book by her. I couldn’t even finish Confess. Since then, I’ve developed a hate relationship with new adult romance novels, so I don’t plan on reading any more of her books.


4. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Honestly, I read A Game of Thrones because of the TV show adaptation, not because of the hype. There aren’t a lot of people who talk about this series in the book community. I struggled with it at first, but I am so glad I decided to continue it. I knew this was going to be better than the TV show and it has become one of my favourite series.


5. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I never read science fiction. There’s not really a reason for that, but I wasn’t interested in Illuminae because of that. But everyone who read it, seemed to love it. So I decided to buy it and ended up really enjoying it!


6. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I started Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo over a year ago, but didn’t finish it. That wasn’t exactly the book’s fault: I was in the mood for something else at the time. When Six of Crows came out and received raving reviews, I read it without having read the Grisha trilogy. And I loved it!


7. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

I hesitated a very long time whether or not I should start this series. As you might have noticed by now, I am not a huge fan of romance. This book features a lot of tropes which are used in many other YA fantasies as well, but I still really enjoyed it! I read it in April when I was ill at home and I devoured it. However, I barely remember anything about it anymore. I would definitely have to re-read it before I start The Winner’s Crime and The Winner’s Kiss.


8. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

I wasn’t exactly interested in The Mortal Instruments, but so many people seem to love it, I decided to buy the entire series. Oh boy, do I regret that now. I really don’t like The Mortal Instruments. I don’t plan on reading any more of Clare’s books.


9. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Once again, I have to mention that I am not a fan of romance. When people talk about this series, they mostly talk about the pairings. That definitely held me back from starting this. I read Cinder in July and I thought it was okay, but I do realise each book is going to get better. That gives me more hope to continue this. However, I am certainly not sold on the relationship yet.


10. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Last year, this was one of the most hyped books. I don’t like saying books don’t deserve hype, but I do think this one was over-hyped. It consists of a lot of the same tropes that many other YA fantasies use. It really wasn’t refreshing to read. Therefore, I don’t plan on continuing this series. Don’t get me wrong, Red Queen was entertaining when I read it at the time, but I’m really not interested in finding out how this ends.


Normally, I have trouble with coming up with ten books for my Top Ten Tuesday posts. Today, however, I easily could’ve gone on and on!

Unfortunately, I don’t end up loving every hyped book I read. Which is normal. Since I want to read more books which feature diversity, I decided to care less about whether or not a book receives a lot of hype. The sad truth is that most of the popular books, still lack diversity and representation.

Anyway, feel free to leave a link to your ‘Top 10 Tuesday’ post down below! Which books did you read because of the hype it received?


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

 

10 thoughts on “TTT: books I read because of the hype (11 October)

  1. billbrarian says:

    I like the fact that in this review you stated which of the hyped series you did not like. I appreciate the fact that everyone has different reading tastes and different reasons for reading. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jamie Wu says:

    I’m the same way with the Raven Cycle. I felt like it was going to be something I like, but I really got hooked by the first book and the Dream Thieves just cemented it as one of my favorite series. I still need to get to the Raven King!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rashthedoctor says:

    I also admit to reading a song of fire and ice after the TV show , though in my case I had in fact heard or rather seen the book mentioned in a website but i waited for the TV show and I’m happy I read the series , fantastic list though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      I knew the show was based on books too 😉 But, I’ll tell you a little secret: I only got into reading not even two years ago. Back then, I probably thought I’d never read books that huge, but look at me now 🙂 And thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. thesassygeek says:

    I have Throne of Glass on my TTT this week as well, it IS super hyped and I wasn’t that impressed with it either.

    I put off reading The Raven Boys because of the hype and because, like you said, it sounded like a romance novel which it really isn’t and I’m so glad I read it! I have only read up until The Dream Thieves but I cannot wait to finish the series!

    Colleen Hoover definitely has tons of fans and I have yet to try any of her books and I I’m a little leery of it since I don’t think I’ll like new adult books. But I got Never, Never Part 1 for free and a copy of It Ends With Us so we’ll see how those go.

    I’m glad you love the ASOIAF series, I started reading it after season 2 of Game of Thrones came out and I do like the books way more. They do take a good push to get through though!

    I only read the first book of the Grisha trilogy and didn’t finish the series and don’t really plan too but I loved “Six of Crows” too! It’s a far better book than Shadow and Bone in my opinion.

    I was super cautious with reading The Winner’s Curse because as you said it is full of YA tropes but I still really enjoyed it too! The second book is even better so I hope you get a chance to continue the series!

    I also absolutely did not enjoy City of Bones either, it is such a huge relief when I find other people who agree with that. I feel like everyone loves that series!

    I’m not a big romance fan either, period. Especially in a lot of YA books so I didn’t really like Cinder either and that’s ANOTHER super hyped series, but I may continue with that one.

    Awesome, awesome list this week! Sorry for the super long comment I just have a lot of opinions about basically all of the books on your list! We seem to have a lot of the same opinions on them too! 🙂

    Like

  5. jessicacrafts says:

    I love this list so much I’m not sure where to start lol.
    Does the game of thrones show not count as hype? I started reading them after watching season 1 and I think I finished all five books in the space of about two weeks (there was no sleeping done in that time lol). My life is incomplete without the next book.
    I’m really looking forward to read illuminae. It wasn’t recommended to me originally but I was planning to read it and then in the last week or so so many people have said I should read it!
    I feel like way too many hyped books have romance as a main part of the plot so I don’t end up reading that many. Unless they are on offer and I feel bored lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

