Ruler of Books tag

This week I am going to do the Ruler of Books tag, created by Ariel Bissett!


If you were the Ruler of Books…
1. What book would you make everyone read?

I’ve made a couple of my (online) friends read The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. The Dream Thieves, the second book in the series, is actually my favourite, but naturally, they have to start with the first one. I love all of the characters so much. Don’t even get me started about them, because I won’t shut up!


2. What would you abolish in book construction?

I actually came up with a couple of things I would get rid of:

  • There are different kinds of paperbacks and some spines crease more easily than others. I could solve this by only buying hardcovers, but I can’t afford that. I definitely prefer ‘floppy’ paperbacks (e.g. my copy of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe) to the normal sized ones or mass paperbacks (e.g. my copies of A Song of Ice and Fire).
  • I buy books based on the rating it receives. I don’t read many reviews because I don’t want to get spoiled, don’t attentively read the summary and never excerpts. One of the reasons why I skim through the blurbs, is spoilers. Some summaries already mention what is going to happen in the second part of the story and I really don’t like to know where the story is going beforehand. So, I’d definitely abolish blurbs filled with spoilers.
  • Right now, I order my paperbacks by size. The other books (hardcovers and different sized paperbacks) go on my other shelves. I don’t understand why there are so many different sizes though?! Especially within the same series: my copy of Ignite Me is bigger than Shatter Me and Unravel Me. When buying books, I have to pay attention to the size and make sure I don’t buy reprints. I wish most paperbacks and hardcovers had the same size.
  • I hate covers with people or stickers on them or movie tie-ins. If a book has a really ugly cover, there’s a big chance I won’t buy it. I run a Bookstagram account so obviously I’m also looking for books I can feature on there as well.

I bet there are plenty more things I would abolish, but these are some of the examples I thought of πŸ™‚


3. What author would you commission to write you any book?

I definitely wouldn’t make anyone write a book about my life. That’d be the most boring book in the entire universe! But I have an idea for a fantasy in my head, though I doubt I would ever write it. I barely have time to read as it is, let alone write. Anyway, I think George R.R. Martin would be the perfect writer for that book. I love the way he writes female characters, and my book would feature tons.

As much as I love the Harry Potter series, I’d never ask J.K. Rowling to write me a book. Keep the heteronormativity away from me!

Another author I love is Maggie Stiefvater, but I haven’t read enough by her (only The Raven Cycle) to know whether I’d want her to be the one to write me a book.


4. What book would you demote to the library basement to make room for new books?

Honestly, I don’t see myself getting rid of any books if they look pretty, even when I hated them. However, I would get rid of the mandatory reads. Half of the time (or even more), I couldn’t even finish them.


5. What cover artist would you commission to make a mural?

And I Darken (The Conquerors Saga #1)There are so many books with beautiful covers. The first ones that come to mind are Shatter Me, The Lunar Chronicles, Harry Potter (Bloomsbury 2014 edition)… I’m currently obsessed with the cover of And I Darken. I’m going to be honest and admit this was a cover buy. I just had to go for the hardcover, even though I have read mixed reviews. It looks so stunning and I hope it looks as good in real life. Unfortunately, I don’t know who created this. I love how minimalistic it seems, yet it doesn’t at the same time. The splash of colour on the black background is absolutely gorgeous.


Β 6. What characters face would you put on a coin?

I love Sansa Stark. I know, I know, I probably say this in every single post. But I can’t help it. There are a lot of people who don’t like her and just for that reason alone, I’d put her on a coin πŸ™‚ Yes, apparently I’m that petty πŸ˜‰ Look, I love Sansa so much I named my dog after her. So obviously, I’d have to put her on a coin.


7. What book would you award the β€œRuler of Books” 2016 Prize to?

This is difficult. 2016 hasn’t been a good reading year for me. I was in a reading slump for months and I haven’t read a lot of books I loved. A Song of Ice and Fire wasn’t released this year (obviously, GRRM is probably the slowest writer on earth), but I have completely fallen in love with it. I started it in 2015 and put it down for months. I’m so glad I pushed through, because it has become one of my favourite series already, and I haven’t even read all of the books yet (once again, obviously, they haven’t been released yet). I love the TV show as well, but the books are miles better. Not that that surprised me, but I really struggled with the writing style and length of the book at first. But because I finally decided to continue it, I feel confident to pick up other huge adult fantasies in the future!


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

One thought on “Ruler of Books tag

  1. ashley says:

    I love how your answer to books you would banish to the basement is mandatory reads. It’s kind of weird, because now, I want to re-read some of the books that I had to read. I think that being told you have to read something takes the enjoyment out of reading something, even if it is a book that you enjoy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

