TTT: characters I’d name a pet after (October 18)

Hello everyone! Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is the following:

October 18: Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After — we did this topic back in 2011 and thought it might be fun to revisit it…feel free to spin it how you need!

This is going to be a lot of fun! I have actually named a few of my pets after fictional characters πŸ™‚ My sister and I got two kittens last year, and we named them Harley and Ivy, after Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy from the DC comics. The funny thing is that a harlequin is often portrayed in two colours (e.g. black and red) and Harley’s face is also divided like that! One half of her face is blond, the other is black. We didn’t even know that before we named her, but the name definitely suits her.

In August, we added two chihuahuas to our family. We struggled a long time with their names, because my sister and I wanted them to be fandom-related, yet still match. Finally, we chose Sansa (surprise, surprise, you must know how much I love Sansa Stark by now) and Daisy. Honestly, we chose Daisy without a certain character in mind πŸ˜‰ But the others were named after fictional characters.

Anyway, throughout this process of deciding our pets’ names, I have collected a long list of possible names I’d like. I’m going to choose some of my favourites now! The names I have chosen aren’t necessarily those of my favourite characters, but primarily ones that sound good! These are in no particular order:


1. Nina (Zenik; Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo)

Nina is my favourite character in the Six of Crows duology. I think pet names should be short and powerful, so Nina would be perfect!

2. Bucky (Barnes; Marvel comics)

Bucky Barnes, or The Winter Soldier, is my only hope for the Marvel films πŸ˜€ No offence, but Captain America: Civil War was such a disappointment; the only reason I’d still be excited for the upcoming movies is Bucky Barnes (even though his storyline in Civil War didn’t seem that promising). If I’d get a male dog, I’d consider naming him Bucky!

3. Bruce (Wayne, DC comics)

Batman has always been one of my favourite superheroes. I don’t understand why the new DC movies receive such bad reviews. Just because they don’t follow the same structure as Marvel’s films, doesn’t mean they aren’t good. I actually prefer DC, because it is much darker and less predictable. Anyway, Bruce would be an awesome name for a dog!

4. Cersei, Arya, Elia, Meera, Asha… (A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin)

I named my dog Sansa, and I wanted my sister to name hers after another ASOIAF character. She chose Dany, but that didn’t sound right. So we named her Daisy instead.

I think it would have been really awesome if we had named her Arya! Unfortunately, my sister isn’t a fan of her, so she didn’t want to do that 😦

5. Noah, Blue or Ronan (The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater)

The characters in The Raven Cycle are my absolute favourites, and I think a few names would fit a pet as well!

6. Luna, Moony… (Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling)

No matter how much I dislike Rowling, the Harry Potter series will always be special to me. Most of the names are rather long, which I don’t like for pets. But there are some really nice ones, like Luna!

If I ever have a daughter, I want to name her Lily. Lily Evans Potter isn’t necessarily my favourite character in the series, but I love that name. I don’t want my child to have a typically Dutch-sounding name, but I don’t want our language to butcher the name either. Thankfully, Belgians won’t be able to mispronounce this name too much.

7. Riley (Sense8)

Obviously, I am a fan of names that end in the -y sound. It’s no coincidence my name is Chelsea πŸ˜€ Sense8 isn’t a book, but a TV series on Netflix. I really like the name Riley, and not only for dogs. Similar names I like are Ruby, Bailey…

Furthermore, one of my favourite BookTubers is Riley Marie!


Feel free to leave a link to your ‘Top Ten Tuesday’ post! I’m curious to discovering more names πŸ™‚


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

3 thoughts on “TTT: characters I’d name a pet after (October 18)

Leave a Reply

