TTT: bookish halloween costumes (October 25)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

October 25: Halloween related freebie: ten scary books, favorite horror novels, non-scary books to get you in the Halloween/fall mood, bookish halloween costumes, scariest covers), scary books on my TBR, etc.

I don’t read a lot of suspenseful or scary books, so I had to do something completely else. I decided to talk about some characters I’d want to dress up as.

Please be aware that it is not cool to appropriate a culture as your Halloween costume. Neither is dressing up as a POC when you are a white person. There are many white characters out there, so I don’t have to steal characters who are POC from actual POC. Naturally, that doesn’t mean I don’t like characters who are POC or don’t look up to them.

Halloween isn’t celebrated in Belgium. They always sell tons of Halloween stuff in stores, but I’ve never had a trick-or-treater at my door. So, my choices are fictional, as I don’t actually plan on dressing up as these characters. Maybe I could cosplay them instead one day 🙂 I don’t know whether this is relevant, but I’m going to mention it anyway: I am white and have blonde hair.


These are in no particular order:

1. Daenerys Targaryen (A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin)

Dany is probably one of the most cosplayed characters. And I definitely see the appeal: the platinum wig, the beautiful gowns, THE DRAGONS! To stay true to the books, I’d have to get purple-coloured contacts 😉


2. Hermione Granger (Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling)

I have already discussed Hermione’s skin colour in my very first book chat. Unfortunately, J.K. Rowling didn’t have the guts to make her canonly black, as much as she’d like to pretend she did now. Therefore, I think it’s okay if I were to dress up as her, since she’s white in the films as well. Naturally, that does not erase the fact that she is in fact black in the Cursed Child play, and I love the race bend. Recently, I’ve started to imagine Hermione as black too, whenever I look for fancasts of her on Pinterest.

Anyway, since I love the Harry Potter series so much, I’d love to dress up as one of the characters. I’ve always wanted to be more like Hermione!


3. Harley Quinn (DC comics)

This year, there are going to be thousands of people who dress up as Harley Quinn! I’m okay with that, as long as boyfriends don’t dress up as the Joker 😉 (I’m sorry, but I absolutely hate that abusive pairing).


4. Allison (The Foxhole Court / All For the Game)

When I read The Foxhole Court, Allison became one of my favourites, even though she was only a minor character. If I had more confidence, I’d dress up like her (and if the series was more famous, of course). She’s typically girlish, but thankfully not portrayed as the ‘mean girl’!


5. Claire Randall/Fraser/Beauchamp (Outlander by Diana Gabaldon)

I love Claire so very much and I wish I was more like her. I have her temperament, but I don’t dare to show it 😀 Whenever people talk about this series, they talk about Jaime. I love Claire so much more than him! Why do people ignore her and love someone who is – quite frankly – problematic? Anyway, her costumes are gorgeous!


6. Cersei Lannister (A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin)

I doubt there is ever going to be a better Cersei than Lena Headey, but dressing up as Cersei seems like so much fun! I’m not a whine drinker, but I do think you should get into the habit (and alcoholism) when you want to dress up as her 😀


Once again, I couldn’t think of 10 characters. I really have to read more books 😮 That has been my struggle all year… But this was still fun to do and I’m interested to know as which characters you’d dress up! And maybe say as which ones I could dress up, based on my picture 🙂 Feel free to leave a link to your post down below!


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

2 thoughts on “TTT: bookish halloween costumes (October 25)

Leave a Reply

