T5W: favourite spooky settings (26 October)

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

October 26: Favorite Spooky Settings
These can be settings that exist in books or ones you’d like to see in books. Also, if you are like me, you don’t really have to make this about horror or scary settings. You can also use eerie, atmospheric settings. Macabre settings. Eclectic settings. I’m not a scary horror person either, but I do enjoy the latter.

As I have mentioned a couple of times before now, I don’t read a lot of scary books. I never ever watch horror movies and I don’t pick up those kind of books either. But I do like mysteries, and those often have scary settings. I really should pick up that genre more often, so if you have any recommendations… 😉


These are in no particular order:

261016_spooky_settings.png

1. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

No ‘Top 5 Wednesday’ post is complete without me mentioning The Raven Cycle. I don’t think I was ever actually scared while reading the books (except for the characters’ lives), but the setting is certainly spooky at times. There are ghosts, demons, forests at night… I can already imagine what everything would look like in a TV series, and let me tell you: it’d be awesome!


2. The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

I was so scared while reading this short story. When I read it, I was alone and it was dark outside. I am very much afraid of ghosts and this book creeped me out. Thankfully (or unfortunately, because I didn’t exactly love it), the ending wasn’t as scary as I had thought.


3. The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I seriously would be the first person to die in the hunger games. Being chased by crazy animals, deathly fog… is not quite my cup of tea. But I really do like the Hunger Games films and should re-read the books to know whether or not I’d still enjoy them.


4. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

I’m not exactly scared when I watch the HP films or read the books anymore, but I can imagine I was as a child. There are a lot of scary creatures in the Forbidden Forest, not to mention spiders! I’m with Ron: why couldn’t they be butterflies instead?!

Besides that, I think the HP series is the only one I can think of that incorporates Halloween.


I really can’t think of a fifth book 😦 Spooky settings aren’t exactly the same as scary books… What are your favourite spooky settings? Give me some recommendations! Leave a link to your T5W-post in the comments if you want 🙂


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

3 thoughts on “T5W: favourite spooky settings (26 October)

Leave a Reply

