October book haul!

I can’t believe October is almost over! I got about 10 books this month, which is too much, october_haulbut it could’ve been worse (I stopped myself from getting even more).

This month, I ordered books on amazon.fr for the very first time. I always used either Book Depository, Wordery or amazon.de, but decided I wouldn’t order any more paperbacks on Book Depository: they constantly arrive damaged, even the replacement copies. Amazon.fr has some very cheap books (like Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda for €5!!!), but I unfortunately own almost all of those already πŸ˜‰ Still, I will continue to use it, so prepare for large book hauls in the future!

Let’s get started! Here are the books I got in October:


all photos featured are my own and some were originally posted on Instagram!

Fiction (hardcovers)

This month, I acquired three new hardcovers. Well, actually four, but one hasn’t arrived yet (Asking for It by Louise O’Neill).

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae was the second book I read this year, and I loved it! I’m in a reading slump so I haven’t picked Gemina up yet, though I want to. Perhaps I should re-read Illuminae first though, my memory isn’t that good.

Girl Mans Up by M-E Girard

Ignore what I just said: I’m even more excited to read Girl Mans Up, even though I don’t know much about it. I’ve talked about this book a couple of times already and will start it as soon as I finish And I Darken.

Morning Star by Pierce Brown

I haven’t started Red Rising yet. Nor do I own the second book in this series. But when I saw a hardcover copy of Morning Star for merely 8 euros, I had to have it!


Fiction (paperbacks)

As much as I love to look at hardcovers, I will continue to buy more paperbacks (my wallet will be thankful). I got these in October:

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke

Because of Halloween, everyone is reading thrillers and horrors. Though Halloween isn’t really celebrated in my country, I was still in the mood for those kind of books. I added Slasher Girls & Monster Boys to my wishlist in 2015, though I only bought a copy this month! I haven’t read that many short stories before, but I’m hopeful it will get me out of my reading slump!

Three Act Tragedy by Agatha Christie

When I went shopping in Ghent the other day, I visited a couple of used bookstores. To my surprise, they were actually quite expensive! So I ended up buying only one book: Three Act Tragedy. Will I read it soon? No. But I couldn’t go home empty handed. Well, I did get tons of new clothes (maybe I should do a haul for that one instead πŸ˜€ ), but no other books.

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

I was hesitant to get this. I loved All The Bright Places, but I’m afraid I won’t anymore if I re-read it. I’m a different person now, and so is my reading taste. Furthermore, a lot of people say Niven e.g. romanticises depression, so I’d definitely pay more attention to that. Still, I decdided to get Holding Up the Universe when I found a copy for merely five euros!


Non-fiction

Surprisingly, I also got some non-fiction books this month!

Girl Hearts Girl by Lucy Sutcliffe

I don’t know much about Girl Hearts Girl, besides that it is about LGBTQ and is written by a YouTuber, who I have never heard of. Once again, I got this because it was very cheap (less than three euros!) and I always find LGBTQ interesting (obviously, since I am a part of the community).

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

We Should All Be Feminists  was so good, I ended up buying three copies! I highlighted pretty much every sentence in my first copy, so got another ‘clean’ one and one for my sister to read as well. This essay convinced me to read more non-fiction.

The Xenophobe’s Guide to the Belgians

I got this because I have to do an assignment on Belgian culture (or the lack thereof).


Funko Pops

Finally, I also got two Funko Pops this month! I added Finn from Star Wars and Gretchen from Mean Girls to my collection!


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

One thought on “October book haul!

Leave a Reply

