The NetGalley Book Tag

You guys won’t believe this, but I was actually tagged to do a tag this week! Reg (@shelatitude) tagged me to do the NetGalley book tag (which was created by Kourtni Reads!) a couple of weeks ago πŸ˜€ I don’t use NetGalley. I do, however, use Goodreads religiously. Here’s a link to my Goodreads profile!


Auto-Approved: Who’s one author whose books you automatically want to read, regardless of what they’re about?

The first author that comes to mind is Maggie Stiefvater. I love The Raven Cycle so much and her upcoming work seems very interesting. But because I didn’t love The Raven King and because of some things she has said on her social media, I am also worried. I never think of someone as if they can do no wrong, and I will be critical if I have to be. So yes, I’m very excited for her upcoming work, but that doesn’t mean I’ll instantly love it either.

However, I haven’t read any of her other books yet. I am interested in The Scorpio Races, but her other work receives mixed reviews and I’m afraid I might have outgrown them.

This was actually a difficult question to answer, since I haven’t read all books from most authors. Besides debut authors, of course. Like, I love A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin, but I haven’t read anything else by him yet!


Request: What makes you want to request a book that you see on NetGalley?

Since I don’t have NetGalley, I can’t answer this question as it is. Instead, I am going to answer the following question instead:

What makes you read a recommended book on Goodreads?

I have to be honest: I haven’t read a lot of the books that have been recommended to me on Goodreads. But I always have a look at their synopsis, rating… I have mentioned this a couple of times already, but the majority of the books I read, are hyped. Because I buy physical copies, I want to make sure enough people like it before I spend my money on it. Lately, however, I’ve also bought some unknown novels, just because they feature diversity. I’m not popular enough myself to make them hyped, but I can certainly try to make other people read it.

Oops, I got off track there. I read a recommended book if it has many positive reviews, if it seems original and if it has been released recently (e.g. I probably won’t pick up a contemporary that was written in 2000, because much has changed since then).


Feedback Ratio: Do you review every book you read? If not, how do you decide what books to review?

Yes, I do. I actually plan on doing a book chat on how I write reviews. The more I dislike a book, the more I enjoy writing its review :p I always tend to focus more on the things I didn’t like, even though I might have loved it. Somehow, I don’t find it easy to express why I enjoyed something.

I don’t really know why I write reviews. I hate looking back on them, as my opinion and writing style constantly changes. I already cringe when I have a look at the reviews I wrote a year ago! However, I do enjoy writing reviews. They are quite long, but that’s how I like them. Most of the time, I won’t add people on Goodreads if they only rate the books they read or write reviews that are one sentence long.


Badges: If you could create your own badge to display on your blog, what would it be for?

I had to look up what a badge was! Anyway, I think I’d have to get a Critical Reviewer badge, just like Reg! You already know that I tend to mention a lot of the things I didn’t like in my reviews. But I am also critical when it comes to rating and actually reading books. I don’t rate books 5 stars often. In August, I changed my rating system because I gave most either 3 or 4 stars, and never 1. The one star is there for a reason, and I want to use it more often. I realise that’s not very nice towards to author, but when looking back on my ratings, I wasn’t happy.

I’m not going to lie: I pride myself on being a critical person. I will never rate something five stars ‘just because author X wrote it’. I’m not judging anyone, but that’s what I saw a lot of people do when Harry Potter and the Cursed Child came out. “It’s Harry Potter, so obviously I loved it”. Well, it’s great that you did, but did you actually enjoy the story, or are you afraid to say something negative about it?

When people want to become my friend on Goodreads, I also have a look a their ratings. If they rate almost every book five stars, I won’t add them. It’s great that they seem to love so many books, but because I decide whether or not I will buy a book on ratings and reviews, I need people who read the same way as I do, which is more critical.


Wish for It: What’s one book that you are absolutely dying to read?

I’ve already mentioned Girl Mans Up in one of my Diversity Spotlight posts, and I am dying to read that one. I have the feeling I am going to love it, even though I don’t know much about it and only one of my 600 friends on Goodreads has reviewed it! Still, it looks very unique: I haven’t read anything like it yet and that’s very intriguing.


2016 NetGalley Challenge: What was the last book that you received as an ARC that you reviewed? If you’ve never received an ARC, what’s the last book you reviewed?

I’m writing this at the end of September, so the last book I have read, was Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. I was lucky to receive a copy pre-release and had already finished it by the time it officially came out. You can read my review here. I rated it four stars.


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

(written September 28, 2016)

5 thoughts on “The NetGalley Book Tag

  1. ashley says:

    I still haven’t rated and reviewed Cursed Child. I’m going to re-read it in December, hopefully in one sitting and then I’ll be able to give it a proper rating and review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

