Harry Potter tag

Today I’m going to do the Harry Potter tag! This (and the graphics) was created by bookidote! There is only one rule: you can’t use any of the Harry Potter books in your answers! Anyone who knows me, knows this is going to be a challenge for me 😀


flagrate

A book you found the theme interesting, but you’d like to rewrite it.

I absolutely loved the idea of The rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. The characters we read about are, surprisingly, not the chosen-ones. Unfortunately, it read like a contemporary and I would have liked this more if this were actually set in a fantasy universe. Instead, it was about teens in high school.

The characters are very diverse, and I really appreciate that. But, my expectations were completely different than what I got, I ultimately felt disappointed.


alohomora

The first book in a series that got you hooked.

Six of Crows is the first instalment in a duology and I absolutely loved it! The characters are so diverse and the action was great too. But because I read it when it came out, I almost had to wait a year for the sequel  😮 That’s definitely the downside of buying and reading new releases, because I have to read them again once the sequel comes out.

Anyway, do yourself a favour and read Six of Crows if you haven’t yet! I didn’t love Crooked Kingdom, the sequel, as much as the first instalment, but most people are very satisfied with the ending!


accio

A BOOK YOU WISH YOU COULD HAVE RIGHT NOW.

I’m dying to get my hands on the illustrated edition of A Game of Thrones. I planned on getting the series in hardcover anyway, but this is the perfect opportunity. However, it is still very expensive (for a book I basically already own) and I won’t be able to read it anytime soon, since I’m still on A Feast for Crows.


avadakedavra

A killer book. Both senses. Take it as you like.

Obviously, the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. You could literally kill someone with those books, they could take insanely long to read and so many characters die!


confundo

A book that you found really confusing.

I really enjoyed reading Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. But because I never read science-fiction, I didn’t understand everything. Still, I would recommend it to everyone!


epectopatronum

Your spirit animal book.

A little FYI on the side: spirit animal is cultural appropriation. Therefore, I don’t feel comfortable using that term, so I won’t use it.

The book that probably represents best who I am is We Should All be Feminists. The book didn’t change my life, I already was a feminist, but it was a huge confirmation of everything I stand and fight for and I wish everyone would read it (with an open mind).


spetumsemtraA dark twisted book.

Obviously, I have to go with Gillian Flynn. I’m a fan of mysteries, although her books are probably the only ones I have read in that genre so far. I’ve read The Grown-up, Sharp Objects and Dark Spaces by her and I liked those (though did not rate them five stars). However, I absolutely love Gone Girl. I’ve seen the film multiple times now and would love to read the book, if only I didn’t know by heart how the story goes already.


adaasd
A book that surprised you in a great way, reveals to be more than it is.

The Song of Achilles didn’t surprise me because it exceeded my expectations (I expected to love it, and I did), but I didn’t expect Achilles and Patroclus would really be a couple in the book. I knew many people shipped them, but didn’t realise they were actually canon. And that pleasantly surprised me!


written on October 9, 2016


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

Leave a Reply

