T10T: Books I recently added to my TBR (8 November)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

November 8: Ten Books I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately

You can have a look at all the books on my TBR-pile on Goodreads here. There are over 200 books on there, so I doubt I will be able to read all of them. That’s why I decided to only mention books I recently added to my TBR and plan on reading soon(-ish). I won’t mention any books that haven’t been released yet. Neither do I own all the books mentioned below.

As you know by now, these are in no particular order:

081116_recently_added_to_tbr.jpg

1. In the Country We Love: My Family Divided by Diane Guerrero

added to TBR on: 3 October 2016

After reading We Should All be Feminists, I decided I wanted to read more non-fiction. I’m a huge fan of Orange is the New Black, so I am already familiar with Diane’s work as an actress. But this book would offer me an insight in her life as an immigrant. As a teacher and as a person, I find it very important that I become more familiar with this topic. I can already tell I am going to love this book!


2. Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

added to TBR on: 6 September 2016

I don’t know much about Every Heart a Doorway, but every BookTuber I watch, seems to love it. It’s very short so I’d like to pick it up, but it’s only available in hardcover and too expensive at the moment (for a book that’s less than 200 pages long!). Still, I’d like to know what all the hype is about.


3. Girl Mans Up by M-E Girard

added to TBR on: 10 September 2016

My expectations for this book are very high. Only one of my Goodreads friends (out of the 600+) has read it, yet I am already convinced I am going to love this. As soon as it became available, I ordered it. This one is on the top of my TBR pile!

edit: In the meantime, I have read Girls Mans Up and rated it five stars!


4. If I was your girl by Meredith Russo

added to TBR on: 5 September 2016

I’ve mentioned this before, but I am writing a thesis on diversity on YA literature. Therefore, I did research on books that include representation. I added tons to my TBR and If I was Your Girl is one I plan on reading soon. What makes this book even more important than the others I researched, is that the author is also trans. Readers should support #ownvoices more often!


5. The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

added to TBR on: 11 October 2016

Once again, I don’t know much about this book. But I decided to add it to my TBR because a lot of BookTubers seem to love it.


6. The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King

added to TBR on: 14 October 2016

I want to read more thrillers. I love those stories with crazy plot twists, but I rarely pick them up. Neither have I ever read a Stephen King’s book before. So, I decided to add this collection of short-stories to my TBR. However, I’m not sure yet whether I’ll pick up this book soon, or another thriller.


7. Replica by Lauren Oliver

added to TBR on: 4 October 2016

Whenever a book is very hyped, it almost immediately goes on my TBR. Honestly, I’m not sure whether the story is going to be my cup-of-tea, but the ‘format’ definitely has me intrigued, with the alternating chapters.


8. Girl Up by Laura Bates

added to TBR on: 19 October 2016

I am already a feminist, so I don’t need to read those books in order for them to ‘convince’ me, but reading We Should All be Feminists was such a good experience, I want to pick up more books like it.


9. Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

added to TBR on: 23 October 2016

When a book features LGBTQ-characters, I am interested in it! The first time I had a look at the reviews, I didn’t add Radio Silence to my TBR. But I can’t remember why anymore! So, when I had a look at it a second time, I just went ahead and added it.


10. The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

added to TBR on: 4 October 2016

I really want to start the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series, but I’m afraid of getting spoiled for Riordan’s other books. I’ve only read Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief and I think I should read them in order of publication.


Which books did you recently add to your TBR? Feel free to leave a link to your post in the comments πŸ™‚

(This post was scheduled on October 23th, 2016.)

β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

7 thoughts on “T10T: Books I recently added to my TBR (8 November)

Leave a Reply

