T5W: characters I used to love, but don’t anymore (9 november)

Before I get started, I want to comment on today’s events. I’m deeply saddened that Donald Trump is going to become the president of the USA. I might not live in the States, but this is going to affect everyone. As I woman and someone who is part of the LGBTQ-community, I am shocked that so many people support a person with such damaging and extreme point of views. My heart also bleeds for people of colour, muslims… and I will continue to fight against sexism, racism, homophobia … I dont want to give up even though I have been crying for hours and that’s why I still want to post this on WordPress. It’s not at all important in the grand scheme of things, but if I could bring a little more enjoyment to your day, I’ll be satisfied ❤️

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

November 9th: Characters You Used to Love but Don’t Anymore
These are the characters who you used to adore, but now you don’t. Maybe they changed a lot. Maybe you outgrew them. Maybe your outlook changed and now you can’t stand them. Maybe you don’t even hate them, you just are neutral about them when you used to run a fan blog about them.

Oh boy, this is not going to be easy! I could probably come up with answers for characters I used to hate, but don’t anymore more quickly! Love is such a strong word though, I might talk about characters I used to root for, but no longer instead.

These are in no particular order:

091116_characters_I_used_to_love.png

1. Severus Snape (Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling)

When I saw Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows in cinemas, I cried my eyes out. I felt so sorry for Snape. I guess I still do a little. However, I’m not going to deny he is a horrible person. The way he treats some of his pupils is outright abusive. Having said that, I don’t dislike him for the same reasons as most of the people in the Harry Poter fandom. My issues with him have nothing to do with Lily and the Marauders.


2. Tyrion Lannister (A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin)

When I watched Game of Thrones, I used to root for Tyrion. But since I started the books, I hate him now. He is a rapist, fantasises about his own sister getting raped, molested a twelve-year-old girl, is sexist… I could go on. The show tries to erase how problematic he is and glorifies him, but the damage is done for me. Furthermore, he’s really overrated. He’s not as cunning as he thinks. Nor is he funny. Ugh, I’m sorry (not really though) but I hate him!


3. Daryl Dixon (The Walking Dead)

Anyone who watched the season 7 premiere of The Walking Dead, understands why I hate Daryl. Once again, it’s not like I loved him, but I did want him to be in a relationship with Carol. Not anymore! I want him to stay away from her, she’s much more pure than he is.

Also, I don’t want to offend anyone, but once again, I think this character is heavily overrated. After seven(!) seasons, we still don’t know much about him.


4. The Joker (DC Comics)

Once again, I did not love The Joker. But I did find him very interesting. Heath Ledger’s portrayal was phenomenal. But, as more and more people started shipping him with Harley Quinn (probably due to Suicide Squad), I got fed up with him. The ship is so abusive. It’s fine to enjoy a villain, but please, don’t erase their problematic behaviour!


5. Augustus Waters (The Fault in Our Stars by John Green)

As a teenager, I was obsessed with The Fault in Our Stars and naturally also with Augustus. I dreamt of meeting a boy like him. Now that I’m older, however, I’m not a fan of it anymore. Don’t get me wrong: it’s not as if I hate Gus now, but I do realise he is unrealistic and probably very cocky.


Actually, this wasn’t as difficult as I had thought! I could probably come up with a few more characters! Also, did you notice this list only features men? cool

Leave a link to your ‘Top 5 Wednesday’ post if you want!


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

5 thoughts on “T5W: characters I used to love, but don’t anymore (9 november)

  1. brunettegirl27 says:

    Even if I don’t agree with the entirety of this list.
    I’m supporting you fully for DARYL! Really!
    I started to dislike him after Beth’s death. I don’t really know what my reasons are but he changed so suddenly. And after the premiere of season 7 — I MEAN REALLY? All the fandom that was saying “it wasn’t his fault!”. LIKE REALLY?!
    It may be a little personal but YOU-KNOW-WHO was my favourite character so yeah, I won’t watch him as I was used to. “If Daryl dies we riot” — EHM NO.

    P.S. During S7 premiere I was almost hoping he was the one to die. I think his character have already said what he needed to say.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      Exactly! I’m just very fed up with TWD and the characters they always choose to kill off (women, POC, LGBTQ) and the only reason I’m watching it, is because my sister won’t quit.

      I heard plenty of rumours before the premiere so I knew who was going to die, but I was still very angry. It also needn’t be that gory. Clearly, I’m just not a fan of shock value.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

