DNF: Everything, Everything

Everything, Everythingeverything_everything

by Nicola Yoon

started in November 2016

Goodreads status: DNF

spoiler-free review

diversity: the main character Madeline is half African-American, half Japanese and suffers from SCID; Olly lives with an abusive father

I am not a fan of romance contemporaries anymore. And that’s why I did not enjoy Everything, Everything. I could’ve anticipated my disappointment. Still, I bought it because so many people seem to love it and it features a WOC as the protagonist. This book was just too sappy for my taste.

Besides that, however, this was like every other YA contemporary novel. Madeline falls in love with Olly after merely 20 pages, she did not sound as if she was eighteen at all and her story revolved around her disease. In many ways, this was like The Fault in Our Stars, which I tried to re-read this year, but also could not finish. Just like Hazel and Augustus, Olly and Madeline agree to be just friends. But you can clearly tell that, just like in The Fault in Our Stars, they just can’t resist each other.

Madeline is basically allergic to the world. She has to stay at home all the time and whoever wants to meet her in person, has to go through an entire process beforehand. Yet, that did not stop her from letting Olly touch her, even though that was not allowed. That’s the moment I decided I did not want to continue this. I can’t handle characters acting like complete idiots because they are ‘in love’. She’s eighteen years old, but she wanted to prove to him that she could do handstands. When she fell over, he touched her bare leg. Just typing this makes me roll my eyes so hard all over again. I’m too old for that sh*t, sorry.

Furthermore, I wasn’t exactly a fan of the characters’ personalities either. They are very clichΓ©. Maddie is so dull and a good girl (“I’m not pregnant and I don’t have a boyfriend. What kind of girl do you think I am?” UGH SHUT UP) and Olly is just like every other boy you will encounter in this genre: incredibly sexy, smart, but oh so mysterious.

The novel did make me wonder how people who don’t have a lot of money, deal with SCID. It sounds incredibly expensive and Madeline’s mother could only afford it because they received money from a settlement. Like, Madeline spent 300 dollars on 6 basic tees and a pair of shoes. What?!

The only thing I did like, were the drawings, statistics… and the fact that the chapters were so short. Sadly, that’s not reason enough for me to continue a book.

In the meantime, I have decided to read some spoilers and I am very glad I decided not to continue this. I wasn’t enjoying Everything, Everything in the first place, but the ending would’ve made it even worse.

Still, I’d recommend it to people who are a fan of this genre. Books featuring diversity (and written by diverse authors!) should be promoted.

conclusion: I did not like Everything, Everything and after reading spoilers, I am glad I decided not to finish it. However, I do think fans of the genre might like it much more than I did, because this does receive very high ratings.


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

One thought on “DNF: Everything, Everything

  1. Adalyn @ Glittering Reads says:

    It’s interesting to see that you DNF’d this with all the hype around it. I’ve honestly felt no desire to read this book. I hate insta-love so much and I hate it even more when people put everything else aside because “they are in love”, like you said, and especially with SCID like Madeline has.

    Like

Leave a Reply

