the Amsterdam book tag

I might live next to the Netherlands, but as far as I can remember, I have never been to Amsterdam ๐Ÿ˜ฎ  Perhaps this tag will make me want to go there! The Amsterdam Book Tag was created by The Writing Hufflepuff.


Why do we have so many cheese stores in one street: A Cheesy Read

I rarely pick up cheesy reads. I’m just not a fan of cute and fluffy books. But I really enjoyed The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West when I read it last year.


Canal Parade: A Book that Celebrates the LGBT-Community

I’m sad to say this was difficult to answer. Because most books that feature LGBTQ-representation, either don’t specifically mention the diversity (which is okay, but it’s not exactly celebrating the community either) or they focus on someone’s sexuality or gender so much, it’s not accurate representation.

I’m going for Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda, although it is written by a straight author. Still, the representation is good, the characters are diverse (e.g. black and Jewish) and it isn’t afraid to battle heteronormativity.


Anne Frank House: A Book that Made you Cry

I always say I cry more easily over books, but that is really not true. It’s been months since a book made me cry, and that was only because of the anticipation, not because of what was actually happening. I was a sobbing mess while reading The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. I was so worried for my precious babies! Whenever I think about the characters, I get emotional again. They feel so real and when I haven’t re-read the series in a while, I really miss them.


Red White Blue: Recreate the Dutch Flag using Books

amsterdam_book_tag


Museum Square: An Artsy Book

I could go for Confess by Colleen Hoover or I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, but I’m going for the illustrated editions of the Harry Potter series instead. I already own so many different editions of this series, yet I have to have the illustrated ones too. They are so beautiful! I’m glad A Game of Thrones also has an illustrated edition now ๐Ÿ˜€


Pigeons, Pigeons Everywhere: An Annoying Character

Well, this will be easy, there are so many characters who annoy me. One of the reasons I couldn’t finish All the Feels, was due to the main character, Liv. She was supposed to be relatable and sometimes, she was. But most of the time, she was biphobic, sexist and acted like a fourteen-year-old, even though she was in college. Check out my review of All the Feels if you are more interested in my thoughts, because this is a very short explanation of why she was annoying.


(scheduled on October 10, 2016)

One thought on “the Amsterdam book tag

  1. ashley says:

    The only editions of HP that I own are the original US hardcovers and the first two illustrated editions. I’m waiting until next year to see if any special edition boxed sets come out commerating the 20th and 10th anniversary of the release of Sorcerer’s Stone and Deathly Hallows.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

