T10T: movies I love to re-watch (15 November)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

November 15: Movie Freebie — top ten all time favorite movies, top ten foreign films, top ten rom-coms, top ten 90’s movies, top ten action flicks, top ten tear-jerkers, top ten movies your favorite actor/actress is in, top ten movies with PoC leads, etc. etc.)

I’ve decided to talk about some films I love to re-watch! On September 6th, I talked about the TV-shows I like to re-watch (you can read that post here), so I thought this would accompany that perfectly πŸ™‚ This isn’t necessarily a list of my favourite movies, but naturally, I enjoy them enough if I like watching them that often!

As you know by now, these are in no particular order:

151116_movie_freebie.png

1. Harry Potter series

My sister and I hold Harry Potter marathons a couple of times a year. I will never get tired of those movies. At least, not all of them. I do have to be honest and admit that we skipped the second half of Chamber of Secrets. We know all the films by heart and the second one is our least favourite. It’s still good, don’t get me wrong, but it doesn’t add much more than the book.

What amazes me, is that I still can get emotional after all those years. There were things I never cried over, but now that I’m older, I do.

Honestly, I could go on praising these films. I love them as much as the books! They’re different and while neither is perfect, I will always be a Potterhead.


2. Mean Girls

Mean Girls is a classic. It has so many legendary quotes and scenes, they still crack me up each time.


3. Love Actually

I’m not a big fan of romantic movies anymore. I’ve become much more critical over the years and that certainly ‘ruins’ such movies for me. Having said that, I adore Love Actually. From the music to the cast of characters and actors: it all works so well. Just writing about it, makes me want to watch it again!


4. Disney & Pixar

I can’t narrow it down to just one favourite, but I still love watching Disney movies. I’m 21 years old now, and I still acquire them on DVD. The live-action remakes have been disappointing though. I really didn’t like Cinderella and the animal deaths in The Legend of Tarzan were hard to handle.


5. Dreamworks

Madagascar and Shrek are such iconic film series! The main reason why I love Disney, is probably nostalgia. I think Dreamworks is -much more than Disney- also targeted toward older audiences.

Just think about  all the songs they used in those movies. Whenever I hear them, I instantly think of those films!


6. Forrest Gump

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched Forrest Gump. Nor can I pinpoint what I like about it so much. I guess because it isn’t about one period of time, but rather an overview of recent American history (whether or not it is accurate).


7. Gone Girl

I’ve watched Gone Girl three or four times now. And I still love it. The ending is so frustrating, but it is amazing that a mystery can still be interesting, even when you already know everything. I haven’t actually read Gone Girl yet, purely because I’ve seen the film so often and I already know what’s going to happen.

Well, I just contradicted myself. But re-watching a two hour long movie is easier than reading a book for days or weeks when you already know everything about it. Still, that doesn’t make sense. Because I re-read books all the time! It seems I have run out of excuses and need to pick up Gone Girl ASAP.


8. Night at the Museum

I’m studying history and I love that these films introduce so many historical figures. Though it might not always be accurate, I still find it highly entertaining.


9. 21 Jump Street

Honestly, I don’t like 90% of comedies out there. They can be very vulgar, offensive, trying-too-hard-to-be-funny… and that’s really not my cup of tea. 21 Jump Street, however, is. I don’t really know what makes is different than most comedies. But if I remember correctly, it e.g. doesn’t need to make fun of minorities or be nasty in order to be entertaining. I’m always hesitant to pick up funny movies, but thankfully, there are still some I can enjoy!


10. The Hunger Games

It’s been years since I’ve read The Hunger Games trilogy, so I can’t remember well enough whether or not the films were accurate adaptations. I know there are some differences (like Peeta’s leg), but I still find them very good. I actually saw Catching Fire in cinemas twice, and that was before I even read the books.

I love that they aren’t completely action-packed, but also rely heavily on the psychological aspect. Trauma is such an important theme. Honestly, I have trouble paying attention to action scenes (that’s why you don’t see any Marvel films on here), but The Hunger Games films can always capture my attention.


These are some of the films I love to re-watch! There are more though πŸ˜‰ Feel free to leave a link to your ‘Top 10 Tuesday’ post in the comments!


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

2 thoughts on “T10T: movies I love to re-watch (15 November)

Leave a Reply

