T5W: side characters who deserve their own series (16 november)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining!

This week’s topic is actually favourite publishers. I tried writing a post about it, but it was no use. I don’t live in the UK or US, so I get whichever book I can get my hands on, regardless of the publisher.

So instead, I am going to do Side Characters That Deserve Their Own Series! This was July 22nd, 2015’s topic.

As usual, these are in no particular order:

161116_side_characters.png


1.  Marauders (Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling)

We’ve asked for a Marauders’ spin-off for years. Instead, we got Cursed Child and five Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movies. I don’t want to sound like a bitter fan, but WHAT THE HELL? On the other hand though, I’m not sure whether I’d want JKR involved. I’m fed up with her (I’ve talked about that numerous times already) and I quite frankly don’t trust her with any future projects. The last thing I want to see is the Marauders as four white, straight men. But knowing JKR, that’s exactly what it would look like.


2. Targaryen (A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin)

I can’t believe I still have to look up how to spell that name. I’m a mess. Anyway, the other day I read that George R.R. Martin is planning to write a prequel about the Targaryens, but I can’t find the article anymore. Still, I’d absolutely love that! The history of Westeros is so interesting and complex, I’d instantly buy that.

Honestly, there are many other ASOIAF characters who also deserve their own series!


3. Dream Pack (The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater)

I’ve talked about my love for Joseph Kavinsky a couple of times already. I don’t excuse his actions, but I still enjoy the character. I really miss him and would love to read more about him. For example in a separate book series on him and his friends (= the Dream Pack). However, the chances of that ever happening, are very slim. I’m already thankful we will get a Ronan-centred trilogy. Still, a girl can dream, right? 🙂


4. Bucky Barnes (Marvel)

I don’t read Marvel comics, so I’m talking about the films here. I’m not the biggest Marvel fan, but I love Bucky Barnes. Besides many female characters (Hello, Marvel?! Nobody asked for a talking raccoon or Doctor Strange…), I think Bucky deserve a standalone movie as well.


5. Nina Zenik (Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo)

Nina wasn’t exactly a side character in the Six of Crows duology, but her ending didn’t satisfy me. I’ve heard some rumours that Leigh Bardugo is planning to write more about Nikolai and Nina might be in there too, but I’m not sure whether that has been confirmed.


Which side characters deserve their own series according to you?

Leave a link to your ‘favourite publishers’ post if you want!


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

2 thoughts on “T5W: side characters who deserve their own series (16 november)

Leave a Reply

