T10T: what I am thankful for | bookish edition! (22 November)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

November 22: Thanksgiving freebie — tell us what you are thankful for! Books you are thankful for!

Oh wow, the Broke and the Bookish sure know how to make each week’s topic unique… and difficult! I don’t even know where to start. I already talk way too often about the books I like, so I won’t talk too much about the books I am thankful for. Instead, I will look at this more broadly, and tell you what I am thankful for, related to books and the book community!

These are in no particular order:

1. In the first place, I am of course thankful for all the wonderful people I have met on Bookstagram, Goodreads, WordPress… I especially love meeting fellow Belgians who I enjoy reading (like the amazing Kayleigh)! Besides my sister, I don’t really know anyone who reads books, so it is always fun to meet people who have the same interests, even when it’s only online.


2. To cater to my addiction, I am thankful for bookstores. More specifically, online bookshops with free shipping! I only got into reading a few years ago, yet I’ve already acquired quite a number of books. I can’t believe I used to buy books in actual bookstores; they’re so expensive! Unfortunately, online shopping does come at a price (not only literally): you never know how a book is going to arrive. And I’ve received many damaged copies. 

3. I am thankful for whoever who created BookTube! I’ve discovered so many books through it. Reading reviews can be quite tedious, so it is nice to hear what people think. Furthermore, I like seeing what the book actually looks like, because I don’t visit bookstores regularly.

I specifically want to thank Samantha, Riley Marie and Lala, who are my favourite people to watch!


4. Of course, I also have to thank books. It amazes me that I only became an avid reader less than two years ago. What did I do in my spare time?! I am thankful for all the wonderful characters I have met, characters I would never got to meet otherwise. I am thankful for all the places I have been to; Hogwarts, Westeros, Henrietta… I am thankful for authors, who dedicate their time to make life more interesting for us. I am thankful for books because they expand my knowledge, and not only of the English language. I am thankful for so many more reasons. Books truly have enriched my life and I wouldn’t want to go back to a life without reading.


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

6 thoughts on “T10T: what I am thankful for | bookish edition! (22 November)

Leave a Reply

