T5W: books I want to re-read (23 November)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

November 23th: Books I want to re-read
Though it seems like we are all constantly chasing the next upcoming release, let’s take a trip down memory lane and talk about some books that we’d like to re-visit.

I love re-reading books. I actually do it quite often, whether it is favourites or when a sequel is coming out. In order for this post to remain interesting, I won’t talk about the Harry Potter series, The Raven Cycle and A Song of Ice and Fire. I have mentioned far too many times already how much I love these series and how I want to re-read them (again!). Nor am I going to talk about other books I have already re-read.

These are in no particular order:

231116_want_to_reread.png

1. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

When I read The Winner’s Curse in April, I devoured it. It wasn’t perfect, but it was very enjoyable. I immediately ordered the second and third book in the Winner’s Trilogy, but those took quite a while to arrive. Since, I have completely forgotten what happened in the first instalment. April isn’t that long ago, yet I would definitely need to re-read it before I continue the series. Granted, I was on a lot of pain medication back then (because of a surgery), so that might be the reason why I don’t remember anything.


2. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae was the second book I read in 2016 and I really liked it. I already own Gemina, but due to my reading slump, I haven’t picked it up yet. I’m hesitating whether or not I should re-read Illuminae first. I don’t really want to, because I remember the plot twists. Still, I will certainly re-read the entire series once it is finished!


3. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Because I rushed myself while reading in order to avoid spoilers, I don’t think I appreciated  Crooked Kingdom as much as I should’ve. Almost everyone on Goodreads rated it five stars, whereas I only gave it four. That’s because I wasn’t satisfied with it. Still, it was very good and much more action-packed than the first. But I guess that’s me: I always focus more on the negative. Anyway, I do want to re-read Crooked Kingdom, but certainly not right away.


4. We Should All be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

It’s not like We Should All be Feminists changed my life; I was already a feminist before I read it. Nevertheless, I completely devoured it and ended up buying two more copies! I highlighted so many parts; the entire essay is worth re-reading.


5. None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio

I want to re-read this one so I can include it in my thesis on diversity (and because I enjoyed it the first time). But I haven’t acquired a physical copy yet. So far, it’s only available in hardback and too expensive at the moment.


These are some of the books I want to re-read! Which ones are on your list?

5 thoughts on “T5W: books I want to re-read (23 November)

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I really want to reread Illuminae! I started listening to the audiobook this month, but then got distracted haha. I read and reread We Should All Be Feminists this year, too. I originally was just going through it to look at my highlights, but then ending up rereading the entire thing and highlighting even more parts of it 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chelsea ϟ romweasley says:

      I started Gemina a few days ago and I have no idea anymore what’s going on! I rarely read science-fiction, so it’s very difficult for me. Hopefully, it will be easier for you.

      Haha, that’s very understandable! I probably highlighted 90% of the book 😀

      Like

  2. FishThatReads says:

    I still need to read Crooked Kingdoms but I feel the same about The Winners Curse, I have yet to read the Winners Kiss and I want to give the Winners Curse a better review. None Of The Above is an amazing book, I have a physical copy, but its strange that the paperback not out yet, its been over a year now…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

