T10T: holiday gift guide: beautiful books (29 November)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

November 29: Holiday Gift Guide freebie (ten books to buy the YA lover in your life, 10 books to buy for your dad, etc.)

This won’t be easy, because December 20th’s topic is the following:

December 20: Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree (or non-book bookworm items)

I don’t want to repeat the same answers over and over again. So, I won’t talk about bookish gifts I’d like to receive. Furthermore, I don’t want this to turn into another recommendation post. So, I will do something completely different, and give you a list of books that are worth reading, but more importantly, are aesthetically beautiful πŸ˜‰ Who doesn’t like to be superficial from time to time?!

Check out my Bookstagram if you are interested in more pictures of these books!

These are in no particular order:

291116_holiday_gift_guide.png

1. The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

There is no book like Illuminae and Gemina on the market. It truly is unique. The concept of telling a story through interviews, emails… is so uncommon, but it totally works.

I wonder what the colour of the third book is going to be. I hope it’s going to be green; I only have a few green-coloured books on my shelves.


2. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

The stained edges, the chapter titles, the maps… Six of Crows and Crooked kingdom look stunning. Thankfully, the story is too. I definitely recommend getting the hardcovers; you won’t regret it!


3. Harry Potter illustrated editions

If you don’t own any Harry Potter books yet, I’d suggest collecting the illustrated editions. Each year, a new one is being released. We already got Philosopher’s Stone and Chamber of Secrets and I am very much looking forward to Prisoner of Azkaban! I wonder how huge Order of the Phoenix is going to be though! Maybe it will be released in two parts?

Even if you already own the Harry Potter series, these illustrated editions are worth adding to your collection! (I sound like a salesperson now πŸ˜€ )


4. A Game of Thrones illustrated edition

I don’t own the illustrated edition of A Game of Thrones yet, but it is on my Christmas wishlist! I regret getting the series in mass paperback. It might be easier to read that way, but my copies are completely damaged (and I only read them once).


5. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I’ve only read Cinder, but I already own the entire series. Once again, I regret not getting them in hardcover, because those look even more beautiful! Still, these covers are probably among my favourites. It’s minimalistic, yet vibrant and colourful.


6. Puffin Chalk

I already own the Puffin Chalk edition of Peter Pan, Alice in Wonderland and Wizard of Oz, and I’d like to complete my collection. These copies are adorable. They are small, yet have wonderful covers and deckled pages!


7. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

No list is complete without me mentioning this series! I absolutely love The Raven Cycle and I also adore its covers. Definitely get them in hardcover, because the paperbacks aren’t nearly as pretty. However, I have noticed that my copies are already starting to discolour, even though they have the dust jackets on! 😦


8. And I Darken by Kiersten White

 JUST LOOK AT THAT COVER. I love the vibrant purple against the dark background!


9. One by Sarah Crossan

I haven’t read One yet, nor do I know a lot about it. Honestly: it was a cover buy. But this book truly seems unique: it is written in verse and there is no other book on my shelves in that colour.


10. Girl Mans Up by M-E Girard

Well, I have to end this list someday. I could go on, because there are so many beautiful books! I love that the cover looks like a graphic novel, though it is a Young Adult contemporary! Also, black and red go so well together.


If you want to give your friends or family members some books, I’d suggest these beauties. Though I haven’t read them all yet, I can assure you that they look stunning. Leave a link to your ‘Top 10 Tuesday’ post, because I am very curious what other people did this week! (scheduled on October 26th, 2016)


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

6 thoughts on “T10T: holiday gift guide: beautiful books (29 November)

  1. storiesandspoons says:

    Beautiful covers, quirky pages and gorgeous illustrations are usually what draw me to a book and I often buy them just because they are gorgeous. Whoever said don’t judge a book by it’s cover was so wrong, because we all do it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. storiesandspoons says:

    I bought the Raven Cycle in hardcover just because of how gorgeous the covers are and I’m hoping to get the Illustrated Harry Potters for Christmas! Fingers crossed! This is such a great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

