T5W: Least Favourite Books in My Favourite Series (30 November)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining!

This week’s topic is actually favourite villains, but because I already talked about those on October fourth for my ‘Top 10 Tuesday’ post, I decided to talk about least favourite books in my favourite series instead! This was March 30th topic, but I wasn’t a member yet.

Most of the series I am going to talk about, won’t be surprises. Still, I thought it might be fun to discuss why the books mentioned are my least favourite.

These are in no particular order:

301116_favourite_series_least_favourite_book.png

1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

It’s no surprise that I absolutely love the Harry Potter series. It’s hard to pick a favourite, though I might go for Prisoner of Azkaban. It’s my favourite movie as well.

My least favourite book (and movie) in the series, is Chamber of Secrets. Don’t get me wrong: I still enjoy it, but out of all the books, it’s the least important one (in my opinion). You could easily skip it and not miss much. Furthermore, the film and book are quite similar. Because I have watched the films a million times already, I already know them entirely by heart. So because it stayed so true to the source material, it can be quite tedious to re-read.


 2. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I love this series so much and could re-read it a million times. I’m always in the mood for it and have to force myself to pick up other books instead. The Dream Thieves is definitely my favourite. The only one I haven’t re-read yet, is The Raven King, which only came out in April 2016. And it is also my least favourite. Throughout the first three books, there is a lot of build-up and foreshadowing. Sadly, The Raven King didn’t meet my (admittedly ridiculously high) expectations. Even though I got what I absolutely wanted, I still felt disappointed afterwards.

I hope the Ronan-centred trilogy is going to change that. But because of the final instalment, I am also worried about that series. I’ll try to keep my expectations low this time.


3. A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin

This series isn’t finished yet, nor have I read all the books published so far, but I can already tell what my least favourite is: A Game of Thrones. I had re-watched the show multiple times before starting the book series. The first season of Game of Thrones still stayed true to the book. Therefore, I had the feeling at times as if I was reading the script. This is in no way George’s fault, but merely my own because I watched the show first.


4. Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

I gave Six of Crows five stars (actually 4.75) and Crooked Kingdom four. Still, because of the final instalment, I’m not sure whether I’d consider it among my favourite series anymore. I don’t even understand myself: I thought it was really good, but I didn’t like everything that happened. Maybe that’s just because I rushed myself while reading, because I didn’t want to get spoiled. Anyway, Crooked Kingdom is sadly my least favourite in this duology, because I wasn’t a fan of the conclusion.


5. Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Taryn Fisher

Honestly, picking a fifth series wasn’t easy. Looking at my shelves on Goodreads, I haven’t finished or loved that many series yet. So, I decided to go for Never Never. I used to love these novellas, but not anymore after reading Never Never part 3. The ending was too convenient and not everything was explained enough.


Obviously, the final instalment in most series ends up becoming my least favourite. And that’s really unfortunate. I guess my expectations are too high. Anyway, feel free to leave a link to your ‘Top 5 Wednesday’ post in the comments!

☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

One thought on “T5W: Least Favourite Books in My Favourite Series (30 November)

Leave a Reply

