November wrap-up!

I thought November was going to be a good reading month. I finished two books rather quickly, but then stumbled upon some I didn’t enjoy much. I finished three books and DNF’d one. Still, I discovered a new favourite book, so I’m satisfied with my reading in November.


Books I read (click on rating for full review)

 

wrapup_x.png

Girl Mans Up by M-E Girard ➳ ★★★★☆

I originally rated Girl Mans Up five stars, but after finishing Salt to the Sea, I decided four stars was more fitting.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys ➳ ★★★★★

This was one of my favourite – if not my absolute favourite – books of 2016. It has changed my life, especially as a future history teacher. I immediately ordered Between Shades of Gray, another book by Sepetys.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo ➳ ★★☆☆☆

Sadly, this was one of the biggest disappointments this year. I really wanted to love If I Was Your Girl: it’s about a trans girl, written by a trans author! Own voices are so important, but I unfortunately didn’t enjoy the plot nor romance. Furthermore, the bisexual representation was awful. I’m bi, so I obviously care about that a lot. Still, the transgender rep was worth it.


Books I DNF’d

 Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon (review)

I’m also disappointed I didn’t like Everything, Everything. It’s a diverse read, but there was insta-love and I wasn’t a fan of the characters. On the other hand though, I’m glad I didn’t finish it. I read some spoilers and would not have liked what happened next.


What I am currently reading

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Gemina was one of my most anticipated releases of the year. I absolutely loved Illuminae. Unfortunately, I’m really not enjoying it. I don’t understand any of the science-fiction stuff and don’t really care about what is happening. If this were a first instalment, I would’ve DNF’d it by now. But because of Illuminae, I want to give it a chance. Still, I’m almost 300 pages in and don’t feel like picking it up again.

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne

Because I didn’t feel like reading Gemina, I started The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. Salt to the Sea has made me more interested in World War II and even though I can already guess what is going to happen, I wanted to read it because my sister has been begging me to for months.


Posts I uploaded

Just like last month, I’m going to provide you with an overview of all of the posts I uploaded in November. Naturally, this list is much more extensive than my actual reading wrap-up 😉

‘Top 10 Tuesday’ posts
‘top 5 Wednesday’ posts
Book tags
Book haul

I’m going to post my November book haul tomorrow 🙂


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

3 thoughts on “November wrap-up!

Leave a Reply

