November book haul

Hello everyone! In November, I didn’t buy as many books as in the previous months. I plan on obtaining many more in December, January and February, because of the holidays and my birthday. Still, I’m happy with this haul because almost none were bought at full price πŸ˜€


all photos featured are my own and some were originally posted on Instagram!

Paperbacks

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Caroll

I already own a copy of Alice in Wonderland, but dropped it a few months ago. It’s a bit damaged, so when I saw this Puffin edition for only a few euros, I decided to buy it. I also own the Puffin Chalk editions of Peter Pan and The Wizard of Oz, so I’m going to start collecting them from now on!

Actually, I also own a Dutch edition of Alice in Wonderland. I have no idea where it is though. I picked it up a few times when I was younger, but never finished it. That wasn’t the book’s fault: I rarely managed to read books back then. So I still haven’t read this children’s classic, but I do plan on doing so one day.


Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

I got Radio Silence because if features people of colour and LGBTQ-characters. I’ve been buying a lot of diverse reads lately. I hope it won’t disappoint!


Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

Highly Illogical Behavior is another diverse book: it features mental health issues and LGBTQ-characters. However, I am much more hesitant to pick this up, mainly because it is written by a male author. Most of the contemporaries I have read by male authors, feature male teenage protagonists who sexualise girls and/or talk about masturbation. That makes me feel very uncomfortable, so I am always wary to pick up books like this. FYI, I’m not a prude who thinks masturbation should never be discussed. I just don’t like how it’s done at the expense of (innocent) teenage girls. The last thing I want to read is a teenage boy fantasising about a girl without her consent. It’s gross. I’m not saying that this is the case in Highly Illogial Behavior (How could I? I haven’t read it yet) but it does make me wary.

Another reason why I probably won’t read this right away, is because the LGBTQ-character is a gay boy. Most of the books that feature queer representation, are about gay boys. And that’s great. But I’m also looking for other representation. So please, if you know any good books I haven’t read yet with bi, trans, lesbian… characters, let me know!

Anyway, why does it sound as if I’m already bashing this book without having read it? I need to chill πŸ˜‰


Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

Even though it has received mixed reviews, I decided to buy Walk on Earth a Stranger. I’ve been buying way too many contemporaries lately (and those are either a hit or miss for me) and need some more fantasies and historical fiction on my shelves.


Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

After reading – and completely loving! – Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys, I immediately bought Between Shades of Gray, one of her other books. I’m very excited to read it and probably will soon. Furthermore, I plan on buying more historical fiction, since I’ve only had good experiences with that genre so far.


Hardcovers

Asking for It by Louise O’Neill

asking-for-it

Actually, this should be in my October book haul. But I posted that before I received this book, so I am going to include it here instead.

I am a feminist, so I have very strong feelings when it comes to rape culture. I will always defend rape victims! So, I have to read Asking for It. But the thing is: I know I won’t enjoy it. Just thinking about this book, gives me anxiety. The other characters’ reactions are going to infuriate me. When I read a book, I want to enjoy it. Still, this topic is so important and needs to be discussed, I have to keep an open mind.


Other

Maus by Art Spiegelman

I’m currently studying to become a history teacher and our teacher recommended Maus to us.

Last month, I vowed to never buy paperbacks from Book Depository anymore. But when I saw a copy of Maus I: A Survivor’s Tale: My Father Bleeds HistoryΒ for only a few euros there, I caved. Since, I have bought even more books there. I’m trash, sorry!


Β Harry Potter magical creatures colouring book

I already own the Harry Potter colouring book and have only coloured in it once! Still, I found it necessary to buy the magical creatures colouring book as well. Don’t judge me: it was less than five euros!


Next month, my haul is certainly going to be much bigger. On Black Friday, I ordered six Funko Pops and three more books, which haven’t arrived yet. I’m already looking forward to my December book haul (though not to checking my back account…). How many books did you get this month?


β˜† You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! β˜†

3 thoughts on “November book haul

Leave a Reply

