T10T: top authors I read for the first time in 2016 (6 December)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and you can have a look at the future topics here! This week’s topic is:

December 6: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

So far, I have read just over 40 books this year. When asking me about my top ten new-to-me authors, you’re assuming that 1) I read lots of books from new-to-me authors and 2) that I actually enjoyed them. And sadly, that’s not exactly the case, because I have been in a reading slump. Not only when it came to the my reading pace, but also my reading enjoyment. A lot of the books I rated four or even five stars, I don’t feel the same way about anymore.

So, I will talk about new-to-me authors I want to read more books of, whether or not the book I did read was a favourite. Oh, and you can have a look at all the books I read in 2016 here.


Anyway, let’s get started. These are in no particular order:

061216_top 2016 authors x.png

1. George R.R. Martin

I’m going to start of by cheating: I started A Game of Thrones in summer 2015, but only finished it March 2016. Therefore, I still want to include him in this list, because I have already finished the second and third book in the meantime and am currently reading A Feast for Crows.

Each book really is even better than the last. Even though I am not caught up yet, I am already very much looking forward to the release of Winds of Winter.


2. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

I absolutely loved Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s essay We Should All be Feminists and want to read more of her work.


3. M-E Girard

Girl Mans Up was one of the best books in 2016, so naturally, I’m looking forward to Girard’s future work!


 4. Ruta Sepetys

If this were in a particular order, Sepetys would be on the first place! Salt to the Sea instantly became one of my favourite books; it was even life-changing! I immediately ordered Between Shades of Gray, one of her other novels, which also takes place during WWII.


5. Rick Riordan

Yes, you read that right: 2016 was the first time I read a book written by Riordan! I already own the entire Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus series, but I will continue it when I have a lot of spare time. In my opinion, his novels are best when binge-read.


I’m sad to say that I have to end this list here. Sure, there are more authors that were new to me in 2016, but I don’t want to add them to this post just because I have to reach 10 names. Anyway, which were your favourite authors that you read for the first time in 2016?

(scheduled on 30 November 2016)


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

4 thoughts on “T10T: top authors I read for the first time in 2016 (6 December)

  1. Callum McLaughlin says:

    Great picks! After reading We Should All Be Feminists I definitely want to try some of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s fiction as well, and I was really impressed with Ruta Sepetys’ books; they are real stand-outs within the YA genre.

    Like

Leave a Reply

