T5W: books I did not finish (7 December)

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by Thoughts on Tomes ! Visit the Goodreads group if you’re interested in joining! This week’s topic is:

December 7th – Books You Want to Finally Read in 2017
These are those books you meant to read in 2016 or 2015 or 2014 and never got around to. Those books that have been sitting on your TBR for a while, and you really want to get to. These aren’t upcoming 2017 releases; these are older books that need your love too!

I feel like I’ve talked about that way too many times already. As you know, I schedule all my posts in advance and I have a similar topic coming up in January. Instead, I am going to talk about books I did not finish. This was the topic on March 23th, 2016 and November 11th, 2015.

You can have a look at all the books I did not finish here and here. The first is a list of books I never plan on picking up again, whereas it’s very possible I’ll read the books on the second list. There are more books I quit, but didn’t make enough progress in those to call it ‘DNF’ (in my opinion).

Anyway, I’ve chosen the most surprising DNFs to discuss today (and the ones you didn’t know about already). Please don’t take it personally if I didn’t like one of your favourite books.

And as usual, these are in no particular order:

December_DNF_x.png

1. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

I picked up We Were Liars during a summer afternoon back in 2015. I read almost half the book in one sitting, but couldn’t be bothered to finish it. Nothing had happened yet, I didn’t like the main character and hated the writing style. I don’t like purple prose. Half of the time, I didn’t know what was real and what wasn’t. At one point, the main character said her father shot her in the driveway. I was shocked, but it was merely a metaphor…


2. Confess by Colleen Hoover

I started Confess in September 2015, after loving Ugly Love and Never Never part 1 and 2, also by Colleen Hoover. Unfortunately, I really didn’t like the characters nor the relationship in Confess. The guy constantly said he ‘deserved’ her, so he seemed like a possessive asshole instead of a decent love interest. Even though I read 75%, I didn’t finish it.

Since, I’ve realised most of Hoover’s books feature questionable circumstances and relationships, which is something I will never enjoy. Even though I loved some books by her, I am more educated now and don’t plan on reading any more of her work.


3. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

I feel like I need to give It’s Kind of a Funny Story another chance. The author committed suicide and the book deals with mental health.

But, I read about 100 pages of it and did not like the main character. My reasons had nothing to do with his mental health though. He sexualised every girl he met and fantasised about them, which makes me feel very uncomfortable (and angry!). I’ve heard it gets better, but I’m not really interested in it anymore at the same time.


4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I read The Fault in Our Stars years ago, months before the movie adaptation came out. And I absolutely loved it. For a long time, it was one of my favourite books. Since, however, I have changed as a person, and so has my reading taste. I tried re-reading it in August, because I was curious to see what I thought about it now. But once I started it, I realised I wasn’t that curious after all. I didn’t enjoy it and didn’t want to force myself to read something just to prove a point.


5. Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes

I thought I was going to love the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes. It has everything I want: multiple POVs, political intrigue… It’s even compared to Game of Thrones!

While I quite enjoyed Falling Kingdoms, the first instalment (I gave it 3.5 stars), I didn’t care about the characters, nor the romance. If anything, I even disliked some of the protagonists! There’s insta-love everywhere, I don’t understand why people praise the romance specifically.

Anyway, I read up to 75% of Rebel Spring, but it was so boring and hated many characters at that point, I never picked it up again.


So, these are some books I did not finish, nor plan on ever reading again. This list could’ve been longer though! What are some books you did not finish? Let me know!

(scheduled on November 23th, 2016)


☆ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Goodreads! ☆

6 thoughts on “T5W: books I did not finish (7 December)

  1. Adalyn @ Glittering Reads says:

    Ugh I hated TFIOS so much. I read it when it first got really popular so I was still somewhat young (fifth grade I think?), so maybe that has to do with why I didn’t like it, but anyway. I actually really enjoyed Rebel Spring though. Some of the characters annoy me, but other than that I liked it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Sorry you didn’t enjoy We Were Liars. That’s one of my favourites, but I totally see how it’s not for everyone. I think I enjoyed it a lot more because that kind of writing style is one of my favourites. I’ve actually see a lot more negative reviews for it, so don’t worry, you’re not alone haha!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

